recommended reads

Best Reads of 2017 So Far

We’re almost half way through 2017! (Which is insane because I honestly don’t feel like I’ve done that much the past six months.) I thought I’d share my favourite reads of 2017 so far, because honestly you should all go and read them right now

Sandhya Menon - When Dimple Met Rishi

When Dimple Met Rishi

Let’s start off with some contemporary reads, shall we? When Dimple Met Rishi is one of the cutest books I’ve read, and I may have accidentally read it in a day… If you’re wanting a summer romcom, look no further.

Brigid Kemmerer - Letters to the Lost

Letters to the Lost

This one was so touching, and I fell in love with all of the characters. Also, it has characters writing to each other without knowing who they’re writing to, and I love that kind of plot so much.

Jenny Han - P.S. I Still Love You

P.S. I Still Love You

I discovered Jenny Han at the beginning of the year, and totally fell in love with her Lara Jean books. They’re so adorable! And there’s so much baking and scrapbooking!

Jenny Han - Always and Forever Lara Jean

Always and Forever, Lara Jean

Yep, Jenny Han is on this list twice because that finale was gorgeous.

Angie Thomas - The Hate U Give

The Hate U Give

What a powerful read! This was such an anticipated read for me, and it definitely did not disappoint. It’s one of those books that I just want to throw at people in order to make them read it. (Question: does anyone know if this technique actually ever works?)

V E Schwab - Our Dark Duet

Our Dark Duet

Let’s move onto fantasy, because now I get to gush about the beauty that this book is. Honestly, I don’t know how V. E. Schwab keeps writing such incredible books! (See below for more Schwab love). This was such a beautiful, heart-breaking sequel.

Alwyn Hamilton - Traitor to the ThroneTraitor to the Throne

The world that Alwyn Hamilton has created is wonderful, and I loved returning to it in Traitor to the ThroneAlso, that cover is one of the prettiest book covers I’ve ever seen.

Scott Lynch - The Lies of Locke Lamora

The Lies of Locke Lamora

This book is just utter perfection. I loved everything. It was fantastic. I have no words than can describe how much I loved this book!

V E Schwab - A Conjuring of LightA Conjuring of Light

Hands down, this is one of the best finales that I’ve ever read. Schwab is a genius who writes about the most wonderful characters, and the most fascinating worlds, and the best plots. I’m so desperate to see what she writes next, because I know I’ll be buying it no matter what.

Rick Riordan - The Dark Prophecy

The Dark Prophecy

I liked this so much more than the first Trials of Apollo book. It was so much fun, and I laughed a lot. Rick Riordan did a great job with this one!

Have you read any of these? What are your favourite books so far this year?

 

1 thought on “Best Reads of 2017 So Far”

Leave a Reply

