The Lies of Locke Lamora // Review

book-review

I love a fantasy book about missing royalty and princesses and dragons and politics and wars between countries, but the fantasy books I love even more are the ones about small groups of thieves/criminals/rebels who pull off incredible heists and run rings around the people who are trying to stop them. The Lies of Locke Lamora is definitely the second type of book.

I’ve had it on my shelf since forever, and finally got around to reading it recently. If it’s on your TBR, please bump it up to the top because it’s FANTASTIC. As in one of my favourite reads of 2017 fantastic. And I’ve read some fab books this year.

Scott Lynch - The Lies of Locke Lamora.jpg

The Plot: Locke Lamora is the leader of the Gentleman Bastards, a gang of thieves who pull off extravagant heists on the nobility. Things are going incredibly well for them, until everything goes a bit wrong.

likes

In my mind, this book is pretty much perfection, but I will give you a list of all the things I loved just so that you know a bit more about what you’re getting into with The Lies of Locke Lamora.

  • the world is incredible – I could easily read a whole book just describing Camorr, the city where Locke and his crew live
  • Scott Lynch throws in so much detail and yet it never seems like an infodump
  • the characters stole my heart – I could gush about the Gentleman Bastards all day because they’re all such unique characters
  • my favourite thing about them was the amount of sass and wit – it was constantly going, even in the middle of the most stressful situations
  • I laughed so much more than I expected to
  • and if I had to pick favourite characters, I’d have to choose the Sanza brothers (but I love them all to bits)
  • the side characters are just as interesting – sometimes it’s easier for an author to put less of a focus on the side characters, but that is definitely not an issue here!
  • they were all so interesting to read about – Nazca was a particular favourite
  • and don’t get me started on the plot – it’s so twisty!
  • seriously, all the twists are in this book
  • along with the twists, there’s also heartbreak – this book definitely isn’t scared of killing people off
  • just a friendly warning!

The Lies of Locke Lamora was definitely a five star read for me, and I desperately need to find the second book in the series. To all fans of fantasy, I definitely recommend this one, especially if you’re a fan of the Mistborn books or the Six of Crows duology.

Have you read The Lies of Locke Lamora? What did you think of it? Isn’t Locke Lamora a fantastic name? Who was your favourite character?

One thought on “The Lies of Locke Lamora // Review

Leave a Reply

