top ten tuesday

My Favourites of the Fandoms

top-ten-tuesday-1

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful book blog The Broke and the Bookish, and is a chance for bloggers to get insanely excited about books!

I was a massive fangirl at school. I watched everything, I’d go on tumblr and fangirl about my favourite shows/books/films, and fandoms were a popular topic of conversation at school.

Then I got to university and suddenly had no time to do anything, so I watch far less stuff nowadays. Which I’m actually really happy about, because it means I can concentrate on my favourites! Speaking of favourites, I’m going to share my favourite fandoms with you today for top ten tuesday, and I’d love to hear what your favourites are!

MerlinCastPhoto.jpg

Merlin

So what’s my favourite tv show ever? It has to be Merlin. I’ve loved this show ever since it first aired, and I have yet to stop enjoying it. I’m in the middle of rewatching it for the millionth time (although I haven’t managed to rewatch those final two episodes yet because the pain just isn’t worth it).

harry-potter-play-jk-rowling.jpg

Harry Potter

Of course the second spot on the list had to go to Harry Potter – both the books and the films. Honestly, I’m struggling to remember a time when I haven’t loved this series (seeing as it dominated my whole childhood.) It’s always going to be the series that I go back to time and time again.

o-CHRONICLES-OF-NARNIA-facebook.jpg

The Chronicles of Narnia

Again, I grew up reading the books, I watched the BBC adaptation (if you haven’t seen it, go look for clips on youtube), and then the films. This series definitely has a special place in my heart.

OUAT

Once Upon a Time

So this fandom is a little more recent, and there was no way that I wasn’t going to fall in love with it. I mean, fairytale retellings set in our world? The perfect show. And can I just say how much I love Emma and Hook together? And also how much the storylines at the moment are killing me?

Poldark

Poldark

This show is too good. I forget how much I love it until a new series starts and then it’s all I can’t talk about for the next couple of months. And having now read some of the books, it never ceases to amaze me how faithful an adaptation Poldark is.

The Musketeers

The Musketeers

I totally may have started rewatching this BBC series again too, but how could I resist? It’s such a fun series with amazing characters, and the friendships between the musketeers are so lovely.

percy-jackson-logo.jpg

Percy Jackson and the Olympians

To be honest, I’m a fan of any book by Rick Riordan, but PJO is my particular favourite. Well, alongside The Heroes of Olympus. They’re so much fun, and Percabeth are one of my absolute favourite bookish couples.

ham-FB.jpg

Hamilton

Every so often I come across people who have yet to hear of Hamilton, and introducing them to one of my new favourite musicals is the best thing! The songs and the story are amazing, and I can’t wait to go see it next March! (Even though it’s still almost a year of waiting).

91jfwjadovl-_sx425_

Collabro

I don’t listen to a huge amount of music (if I do, it’s usually musicals or soundtracks), but I will happily make an exception for these guys. Sure, they do mostly sing musicals so I’m not branching out that much, but they’re sooo good so I recommend them to all of you. Even if you don’t like musicals, go check them out anyway!

doctor_who_logo_23.jpg

Doctor Who

I may not have been the biggest fan of the past couple of series’, but I still love going back and rewatching older Doctor Who episodes (along with its spin-offs). The tenth doctor will always be my favourite doctor (and Martha my favourite companion), but I’m very excited about seeing the new companion when the next series starts.

What are you favourite fandoms? Are you in any of mine? Leave a link to your TTT in the comments!

21 thoughts on “My Favourites of the Fandoms”

  1. The Chronicles of Narnia was a great choice. I like the books, the original BBC movies, and the remakes that came out a while ago. It’s simply a fascinating universe in general. 🙂

    I have heard nothing but positive things about Hamilton as well. I’m hoping to get to see it soon.

    Here is my TTT

    1. I love Narnia so much – I think because of growing up with it, it reminds me of home as well so watching/reading it always makes me happy. 🙂

      I hope you get to see Hamilton soon, it looks amazing!

    1. I’d definitely recommend it if you get a chance! (Even if it has gone a little downhill lately.) But it’s definitely worth watching 😀

  2. Great list! Once Upon a Time is in my top ten as well! Hook and Emma are amazing! I loved Merlin as well, but I’m still not over those last two episodes.

    1. They’re so good together! And I don’t think I’ll ever be over those last two episodes – they were so heartbreaking.

  3. Hamilton, Harry Potter, Doctor Who… all such fantastic stuff!!
    I watched a few episodes of Poldark a while back and LOVED it, but never got around to continuing the series. I’ll definitely have to catch up soon, since the first few episodes were just so beautiful and neat. ^-^

  4. Oh my gosh, I’m so happy to see Hamilton on your list, I’m such a huge fan!! I wish I could go and see it so badly. I hope you have an amazing time when you get to go – I’m sure it will be worth the wait!

    1. It’s such an amazing musical, and I can’t wait to go see it. I hope you get the chance to see it at some point!

  5. I got so into Arthurian legend because of Merlin, that I ended up taking a class on it during my first year of college. That class kind of ruined the legend for me, but I still love the show.

    1. That’s so cool that Merlin inspired you to do that, although it’s a shame the class didn’t go so well. At least you always have the show to go back to!

    1. Donna’s definitely my favourite after Martha! Neither of them get enough appreciation though, despite their awesomeness.

Leave a Reply

