book review

The Invisible Library // Review

book-review

First things first, isn’t The Invisible Library a great title? Just those three words got me excited about reading this book! But what exactly is The Invisible Library about? Well, it’s got librarians, alternate universes, book thieves, magic, steampunk and dragons. There’s a lot going on in this book.

The book tells the story of Irene, a librarian who winds up trying to steal a book which a lot of other people are after (including fae, detectives, and other librarians). Did I mention that Irene is no normal librarian? You see, she’s from a library that exists between universes which essentially preserves unique copies of books from the different worlds. So basically Irene is a librarian/thief/time traveller.

genevive-cogman-the-invisible-library

But the crucial question: what did I think of The Invisible Library? Overall, I enjoyed it – it was a fun adventure involving libraries and alternate universes, and it wasn’t what I was expecting (in a really good way). But… I have some issues, which I will explain in list form!

likes

  • no dull moments  – something was always going on, however bizzare
  • everything is in this book  – dragons, fae, vampires, zeppelins, Victorian London… It’s impressive how much this book manages to squeeze in (although dragons didn’t really make enough of an appearance)
  • Irene was fab – well, at least most of the time. I loved her determination to get the job done, and her dedication to the library
  • the idea for the world was so cool – I definitely haven’t read many books with this kind of setting, and it was so fascinating exploring how the world worked
  • the Language – aka magic that only the librarians can use. I loved the fact that the magic got “updated” as more books were brought to the library

dislikes

  • not enough of the library – look, if a book mentions a library, I want to see as much as possible of that library as possible, and I didn’t get enough in this book
  • the romance – so there wasn’t really any romance, which was great, but characters did fancy each other and it felt weird? In particular, Kai’s weird attitude towards Irene didn’t feel like it added anything to the book.
  • female friendship – or maybe I should say, the lack of female friendship. There were two main female characters in this and they HATED each other for the entire book. Why? What’s wrong with friendship??
  • magic system – I know I’ve mentioned the Language (which was really cool), but there were also other types of magic in the book, and I really don’t get how the different magic systems work together.

All in all, I enjoyed The Invisible Library despite the very strange romantic bits. I’ll probably be checking out the next book in the series, mostly in the hope that I get a.) more of the library, and b.) more dragons.

Have you read The Invisible Library? What did you think of it? Did you wish that the library featured more? What’s your opinion on dragons?

 

3 thoughts on “The Invisible Library // Review”

  1. I haven’t read this book, but I’m kind of a sucker for books about libraries, too. 🙂 I like The Great Library series by Rachel Caine so far. This book sounds like something I should check out. Thanks for your review! I like the list of likes and dislikes.

    1. There’s just something about books about libraries that I can’t resist! I really like The Great Library series, and yeah, I’d say that The Invisible Library is worth the read.

Leave a Reply

