The Hammer of Thor // Review

book-review

So I’ve left this review a little late – I read it several months ago, but I really wanted to say a few words about The Hammer of Thor. I’m a massive Rick Riordan fan, and I loved the first book in this series. And happily, I really enjoyed this book too. It made me laugh, it took me on a wild adventure full of norse mythology, and it had wonderful characters. If you’re a fan of Riordan’s books, then it’s more than likely that you’ll enjoy this one too.

rick-riordan-magnus-chase-and-the-hammer-of-thor

In particular, I really want to focus on one thing about this series, which is the representation of religion. Specifically, Islam, seeing as Samirah, one of the main characters (and one of my favourite characters ever), is Muslim.

I think it’s fantastic that Islam is represented in such a positive light in these books, and that we actually see Samirah’s faith in action (unlike many YA books which mention that a character is religious and then leave it at that). BUT… I did have a tiny quibble about this back in The Sword of Summer. My issue was how Sam’s faith and beliefs worked alongside the fact that she knew about the Norse gods existing (which in my mind contradicted her belief in Allah). I honestly didn’t think the series would touch on the topic (as mentioned in my review of The Sword of Summer).

But it turns out I was wrong, because this discussion did come up (along with lots of other mentions of Sam’s faith) and I was so happy to see the issue acknowledged. It’s so refreshing to see a positive depiction of religion in YA fiction!

The other things I loved:

  • this book is hilarious (as is to be expected from a Rick Riordan book)
  • there’s so much friendship
  • Samirah and Amir are the cutest
  • there’s loads of diversity, which is great to see
  • the book emphasises friendship way above any romance (Sam and Amir are a very small side plot) – this is such a nice change from most YA books
  • the way Riordan writes about the Norse gods is so creative

I’ll admit, I really missed Magnus’ hallmates in this because I loved them in the first book, so I’m hoping that we’ll get to see more of them again soon. And the book does follow the classic formula of Riordan’s books, so don’t expect anything too new in that respect.

But overall, this is a great read, and I’m looking forward to reading the final book in the series!

Have you read The Hammer of Thor? What did you think of it? Who’s your favourite character?

4 thoughts on “The Hammer of Thor // Review

    1. I’d say that I definitely rather the Percy Jackson / Heroes of Olympus books (Percy is one of my favourite characters ever!), but if you enjoy those then you’ll probably like this series too.

Leave a Reply

