A Conjuring of Light // Review

book-review

This book was made of pure magic.

If that’s all the reason you need to go and read it, then please do. But, if reading a book made of magic isn’t quite enough for you, then I’ll do a proper review.

Or I’ll at least try – I have no clue how I’m going to express my love for this book in words.

Let’s just say that I would give this all the stars if that was possible – five just doesn’t seem like enough!

V E Schwab - A Conjuring of Light.jpg

A Conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab is the final book in the Shades of Magic series. It follows the story of Kell and Lila, and their adventures in the four Londons. I don’t want to say too much about the plot of this final book (no one likes spoilers), but I will say that it’s incredible. There’s a lot of stabbing, plenty of touching moments, and so much stress.

The plot is fast-paced and full of action. I should warn you though, there are a lot of PoV’s in this book. And although this usually this puts me off, it worked so well in ACoL! Every single PoV felts like it needed to be there, and I felt like I knew all the characters so well by the end.

Speaking of the characters, they’re what makes this series incredible. Each one is so well-developed, so conflicted and so fascinating to read about. And just as amazing as the characters are the relationships and the bonds between each of them.

Kell and Lila are of course my favourites, and I honestly can’t get enough of them. I gushed about them quite a bit in my review of A Gathering of Shadows so I’m not going to go quite as crazy this time, but I do think they’re wonderful.

There was so much Rhy in this book too, which was wonderful, because he’s so much fun to read about. Also his character grew so much in ACoL and I possibly thought his storyline was even better than Kell and Lila’s! I also have to mention Emery, mostly because his and Kell’s interactions made me smile every time. Which was needed, because the rest of the time I was screaming at this book due to stress.

Also, I suddenly like Holland and have a soft spot for him? When did that happen? Again, I don’t want to spoil anything, but I will say that I loved Holland’s chapters this time round. To be honest, I don’t think there was a character that I didn’t enjoy reading about.

I can’t not mention the world building either. I know I talked about it a little in my review of A Gathering of Shadowsbut I want to mention it again because it’s so cool! How different each of the Londons are, the ways of traveling between them, the enchanting descriptions. I want to visit right now.

This was an incredible finale to a fantastic series, and I’m so desperate for Schwab to release more books set in this world. Here’s hoping for more!

Have you read A Conjuring of Light? What did you think? Are you in love with the series as much as I am?

One thought on “A Conjuring of Light // Review

Leave a Reply

