To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before // Review

book-review

I’ve been hearing amazing things about To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before ever since it first popped up in the blogosphere, and that was, what, almost three years ago? Well, I’ve finally gotten around to reading it. I know, it took me long enough. But to make up for it, I then read P.S. I Still Love You straight afterwards, so today you’re getting a double review!

to-all-the-boys-ive-loved-before

So, what did I think? Well, this series is the cutest thing ever. Contemporaries aren’t my usual go-to, especially in January, but these two had me desperately turning pages to see what would happen next. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before tells the story of Lara Jean, and what happens where her private love letters are sent out to five different boys.

likes

The sisters and their relationship with each other. There are not enough sister books in YA, so this was so lovely to read. Their conversations felt real and natural, and I couldn’t get enough of them. I loved their relationship with their dad too – again, it all seemed so natural. (I really loved the scene where they dancing round the kitchen and singing The Sound of Music, because that is literally my family).

So many hobbies! I mean, usually in YA, a character has this one hobby that completely defines her and that’s that. But here, Lara Jean is definitely not a one-hobby girl. She scrapbooks, she writes, and most importantly, she bakes. There’s so much baking, and after reading I always seemed to end up kind of hungry.

Speaking of Lara Jean, she’s wonderful. She’s really sweet, kind of shy, loves her sisters, a little naive, and through out the book you can’t help but love her more and more. Reading about her relationships with her family, and with Peter/Josh/John is addictive, as is seeing as she deals with each situation thrown at her.

One thing this book does really well is cute scenes. There are so many of them, and I usually this big smile on my face as I read. The only issue with all the cuteness is that I don’t really know who to ship Lara Jean with! Since five letters get sent out, you can tell there are going to a couple of love interests, and so we do get the dreaded love triangle. HOWEVER, I do think it was handled really well, and it actually kind of suited Lara Jean’s character.

The diversity was also fantastic. Lara Jean and her sisters are half Korean, so there’s a lot of  Korean culture, and I loved reading about it.

dislikesI wasn’t entirely sold on the series at the beginning, mostly due to the writing style. It’s possible it’s because I’ve been reading a lot of fantasy lately, but it felt kind of young, as if Lara Jean was younger than sixteen. But I either got used to it or something changed, because it stopped bothering me pretty early on in book one.

My one other quibble is relationship between Lara Jean and Genevieve. Although I understood the reasons behind the relationship by the end of P.S. I Still Love You, it felt a little too “mean girl cliche”. I suppose it would have been nice to see their relationship develop a little more over the course of the books. But hey, that’s why there’s a third book coming, right?

Basically, I really loved this series. It’s definitely a solid five star series, and I can’t wait to read more about Lara Jean in the final book of the series.

Have you read To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before? What did you think of it? Who do you ship Lara Jean with?

4 thoughts on “To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before // Review

Leave a Reply

