Flawed // Review

book-review

YA is my go-to genre (my blog is definitely evidence for that), but every so often I venture into adult fiction, and one of the authors I love reading is Cecelia Ahern. P.S. I Love You had me crying buckets of tears, so when I heard that she was releasing a YA book, I knew I had to read it.

FlawedΒ is a dystopian, set in a world where people where people are expected to be perfect. Everyone abides by a moral code, and those who fall short are branded “Flawed”. And when I say branded, I mean they’re literally branded to show the rest of the world that they’ve done something wrong. Our main character, Celestine, has always been perfect, but her world completely changes when she breaks a rule and suddenly faces being flawed.

First off, I’ve read a lot of dystopians, so it was going to take a lot to keep me interested. And boy, this book definitely managed it. It had a fantastic world, complex characters, and a hard-hitting message.

cecelia-ahern-flaed

Let’s start with the world. Sure, at the beginning the book was a bit infodumpy, but I soon got to grips with what was going on. It’s a world set not too far in the future from our own, and some of it is uncomfortably familiar. The way we treat the people around us, especially those who are disadvantaged in our societies, was at the forefront of the book, and I definitely recognised myself sometimes in the character’s actions (and notΒ necessarily in a good way). I believe dystopians should make us stop and think about are world, and this one certainly managed that.

The characters themselves were also fascinating. Celestine is so interesting to read about, as her world view gets turned upside down. She struggles with the way she acts, and the way society acts, and I loved seeing her develop into a strong character who was willing to stand up for what she believed in. There was one decision that Celestine made that didn’t seem to fit with her character, but otherwise her characterisation was perfect. Also, she was all about maths and logic, and it was so refreshing seeing a character who enjoys maths and school and isn’t instantly labelled uncool or weird.

And finally, the plot. It’s not packed to the brim with action like some dystopians, but it still kept me reading every moment I could. The way society began to change was so interesting, and I really need to know what’s going to happen next.

My only issue is what seems to be the curse of dystopians everywhere: instalove. Or perhaps it was more love at first sight, seeing as the two characters in question barely spoke a word through out the book? Either way, I’m hoping the relationship is developed more in the next book, because I think it’s going to be a major thing. (And I’m kind of scared that there’s a love triangle coming…)

But anyhow, I need the next book right now because this was fantastic! I’d definitely recommend it.

Have you read Flawed? What did you think? What are your feelings on dystopians – still in love with them, or a little fed up?

One thought on “Flawed // Review

Leave a Reply

