Gemina // Review

book-review

This book was total genius. I’m struggling to find words right now because I enjoyed it so much. Genuinely, I’m just staring at a computer screen and am speechless.

I don’t think I’ve ever been so lost for words when it comes to reviewing a book.

I guess I should try and tell you something about this book though. Firstly, it’s a sequel to Illuminae, which was released last year (and which was also one of my favourite books last year). The format of Gemina is pretty similar to Illuminae: it’s full of instant messaging, journal entries, dossiers, schematics etc. Using this unique format, Gemina tells the story of Hanna and Nik, who are aboard the Heimdall Space Station when it gets invaded by a BeiTech strike team.

Warning: there will be small spoilers for Illuminae ahead.

29236299.jpg

I adored Hanna and Nik, and their relationship. They were so interesting to read about, especially with their wildly different backgrounds. I loved the way their relationship developed as they struggled to survive aboard Heimdall.

However, as much as I enjoyed reading about Hanna and Nik, I loved reading about Kady and Ezra even more. They stole my heart in Illuminae, and it was so lovely seeing them again in Gemina. The parts set aboard Hypatia were definitely my favourite parts of the book.

And I have to do a shout-out to analyst ID 7213-0089-DN, because his descriptions of the surveillance footage were amazing, and I kind of hope that we get to properly meet him in the next book. I got so excited every time one of his “chapters” came up!

Plot-wise, Kaufman and Kristoff outdid themselves. It was so tense! There were parts that I wanted to read with my eyes closed because I was genuinely terrified for the characters. And the plot was also insanely clever. I don’t want to say too much, but the authors definitely took a risk when they chose this plot. And it was a risk worth taking, because I thought it was incredible.

My only issue: how am I meant to wait a year after that ending?? I mean, seriously?

Gemina was an incredible sequel, and I would totally recommend The Illuminae Files to everyone. Honestly, if you haven’t read these books yet, please go do that right now!

Have you read Gemina yet? What did you think of it? How desperate are you for the next book in the series?

3 thoughts on “Gemina // Review

  1. ARGH! I can’t wait to get my hands on this book! My copy is coming in the mail but it can’t get here fast enough. Your review has got me so anxious and excited I’m practically peeing my pants! (slight exaggeration) Thanks for posting your thoughts, I hope love it as much too.

    1. I hope you get it soon and that you enjoy it too! I thought it was so good – it does leave you desperate for the next book though 😀

Leave a Reply

