A Thousand Nights // Review

book-review

To be honest, I’m not really sure what to make of this book. Or how to even write a review for it. It’s very…. different to your usual YA book. If you’re a fan of fast-paced action, this probably isn’t the book for you. If, however, you like lyrical books which have a slower pace, then definitely go try it.

Which camp do I fall into? Well, it seems A Thousand Nights really isn’t my sort of book. Which is such a shame, because I thought I’d really love it. And I did really like the writing. It was beautiful, and there were lines that I had to reread because they were so lovely. It also had the most wonderful setting. It was really vivid, and I did feel like I was right there in the sands.

A Thousand Nights

I also felt that Lo-Melkhiin was written really well, and he was fascinating to read about. But I’m afraid the rest of the book just wasn’t really for me.

So what wasn’t I so keen on?

Well, it was rather slow, especially at the start. I’d imagine this wasn’t a problem for a lot of readers, but personally I wasn’t a fan. It stopped me from really getting into the book because of the pace. I also didn’t get into the book so much due to the writing. Like I said, I thought it was gorgeous but, at the same time, I didn’t feel very engaged. I felt disconnected to the plot and the characters.

Another thing that I wasn’t such a fan of were the stories told to Lo-Melkhiin. They weren’t particularly interesting, despite the fact that they were one of the main draws of the book. I just couldn’t get excited about them.

I also had issues with the magic. I couldn’t get my head around it at all. I found it really hard to imagine it, and how it worked. It wasn’t very clear at the start when it came to the magic, and I didn’t really follow it.

But I did feel there was a good message behind all the lovely writing. It made a point of showing how significant women are, despite how often they’re written out of history and how overlooked they can be. That side of the book was really interesting.

So, overall, A Thousand Nights had some fab parts, especially the writing and the message. But in terms of enjoying the story, it just didn’t quite hit the spot. Based on other reviewers thoughts, it definitely seems to be one of those love-hate books! I’m curious about the sequel/companion novel though, so I’ll still be checking that one out.

Have you read A Thousand Nights? What did you think of it? What was your favourite thing about it?

2 thoughts on “A Thousand Nights // Review

Leave a Reply

