discussion

The Fabulousness of Audiobooks

Discussion.png

I never really thought that I’d be into audiobooks.

There were a lot of reasons for that – I didn’t have the time, I preferred reading the physical books, they were too expensive. Now I’m wishing that I hadn’t let those excuses get in the way!

My first taste of audiobooks was way back, at least twelve years ago. My family had Danny, the Champion of the World on cassette, and it used to be my favourite thing to listen to in the car. (And it ended up becoming one of my favourite Roald Dahl books because I listened to it so much!) Audiobooks didn’t feature much in my life after that, until we fast forward to the summer of 2014, when I listened to Code Name Verity.

That was an experience and a half.

Seriously, even if you’ve already read the book, go listen to it. It’s so worth it.

It didn’t really change my mind about audiobooks though. I still didn’t think I had the time for them. I’d been able to listen to Code Name Verity over the summer, when I wasn’t busy. How was I meant to fit audiobooks into my routine, along with reading and blogging and studying?

And then, a couple weeks ago, I figured it out. I saw Illuminae being recommended as an audiobook, and I was curious how that worked. In my mind, Illuminae is a really visual book, and I couldn’t imagine the experience of listening to it being the same as reading it.

I was so wrong.

While I was listening to it, I realised how fantastic audiobooks are. You know what else I realised? How perfect they are for travelling, or for sitting in a cafe, or for gaps between lectures, or for literally any occasion. How did I not realise this before?

The only issue, I guess, is that I can’t be doing anything else while I listen. Even cross stitching distracts me too much (which is weird, considering I can do it fine in front of the telly). Maybe I’ll give colouring or something a go next time I’m listening.

Although audiobooks are in no way ever going to replace physical books for me, I’m definitely going to be listening to a lot more of them. I have a forty minute commute to uni, and I have never been so excited to sit on a bus for so long!

But I want to know: what are your thoughts on audiobooks? Do you listen to them? What are your recommendations? Do you prefer audiobooks or physical books? When do you listen to them?

4 thoughts on “The Fabulousness of Audiobooks”

    1. I’ve been really tempted to listen to the Harry Potter books – it’s been ages since I reread them. I’ll definitely have to check them out. 😀

Leave a Reply

