book review

Empire of Storms // Review

book-review

Question: how do I write a review for this book? I’ve been trying to figure out how for a few weeks now, and I’m still no closer. The notes I wrote after finishing the book are just a mess of feelings, and I genuinely considered just posting those to the blog. (Don’t worry, I’m not going to do that. I have put a little effort into this review).

So, this is my attempt at explaining why I loved this book so much, and why I gave it four stars.

Let’s start with the plot, shall we? I don’t really want to spoil the series for anyone, so I’m not going to go into too much detail, but let’s just say it was very dramatic. As in, you do not get much more dramatic than this. There were quite a few twists and turns that I definitely did not see coming. You know, the types of plot twists which leaving you gasping in horror.

Sarah J Maas - Empire of Storms.jpg

And that was not the only emotion going on. Nope, definitely not. Because this book made me cry. Twice. Don’t worry though, the first time was happy tears. The second time however was most definitely not happy tears. You’ve been given a warning.

The setting was also wonderful, as always. It was so easy to visualise, and places like Skulls Bay came alive in my mind. That final battle scene too – there was a crazy film scene going on in my head at that point. And all the magic! That was really cool.

One thing that the Throne of Glass series does well is multiple characters povs. And although I wish that the Thirteen made more of an appearance throughout, Empire of Storms did manage to give each of the characters the attention that they deserved.

So, let’s go into a little detail about these characters, because that’s what this series is really all about. The characters, and how they grow and change over time.

I guess I should start with Aelin, our main character. I’ll admit, I don’t love Aelin as much as I did in the first couple of books but I do still like her. She’s so feisty and arrogant and witty, and she’s willing to make the hard decisions. I’m also a huge fan of the way she just springs her plans on everyone, because their reactions are the best. Also, her friendship with Lysandra is perfect.

However, Aelin is sort of the reason this didn’t hit five stars for me. Or should I say, Aelin and Rowan. I’ve never been the biggest fan of Rowaelin, but they really got on my nerves in EoS. It kind of felt like their only priority was sleeping together, rather than the war that was brewing (which I thought was just a little bit more important).

Aelin certainly wasn’t the only character though. There are so many others that I loved reading about.

Firstly, Lysandra. She has officially become one of my top ten favourite characters ever. She’s clever and strong and brave, and willing to do anything for her friends. Her shapeshifting talent was fascinating to read about, and I loved reading about her developing relationship with Aedion. My only issue: we only got her pov twice. TWICE. Ideally, the final book should be all about Lysandra. We don’t need any of the other characters.

Actually, that’s a lie, because I have to mention Manon. She’s my second favourite in the series, and she’s fab. Mostly because she’s so horrible to everyone apart from the Thirteen and Abraxos. There was so much going on with Manon in EoS, and I’m so excited to see where her storyline leads.

Dorian is still adorable, and I’m kind of terrified about where his story’s going. I loved seeing his magic develop, as well as his relationship with Manon. Aedion was also great, even if he is ridiculously over protective of Aelin all the time. I do like that he’s willing to challenge her though. And his relationship with Lysandra! Those two are definitely my favourite ship.

Finally, we got to know a couple of characters a bit better. Elide and Lorcan didn’t hold my interest as much as the others, but I’m curious to see how things work out between them.

So, those are a few of my thoughts on Empire of Storms. Honestly, I could probably keep going, but I’m not going to let this review turn into essay. Let’s just say, I really enjoyed Empire of Storms, and I’m very excited about the end of the series.

Have you read Empire of Storms? What did you think? Who’s your favourite character in the series? Are you a fan of Rowaelin?

4 thoughts on “Empire of Storms // Review”

    1. You HAVE to read this one!! It was so good, and the series just keeps getting better. Honestly though, you’ll definitely cry. It’s so intense.

Leave a Reply

