stacking the shelves

Stacking the Shelves #53

stacking-the-shelves

Stacking the Shelves is hosted by the wonderful book blog Tynga’s ReviewsIt’s an opportunity for book bloggers to share their latest book hauls, whether those books are arcs, bought, or borrowed!

I’m back at uni! However, the semester doesn’t start for another couple of weeks, which I means I have lots of time for blogging right now. Well, blogging and reading. Actually, due to a lack of wifi, I’m mainly just reading. Which is so lovely, because I’m storming through my TBR. Then again, I’ve also bought quite a few new books, so my TBR isn’t shrinking that quickly.

What Did I Get?

Jesse Andrews - Me and Earl and the Dying Girl.jpg

I’ve already finished this one, and I have really mixed feelings. It made me laugh a lot and it was very refreshing compared to a lot of the “issue books” around at the moment. On the other hand, the humour is so crude and I wasn’t the biggest fan of the main character. See? Mixed feelings.

Theresa Breslin - The Medici Seal.jpg

I’ve enjoyed Theresa Breslin books in the past, so here’s hoping that this one will be just as good!

Amie Kaufman Jay Kristoff - Gemina.jpg

I almost screamed when I saw this in Waterstones. I’d completely forgotten that it was coming out soon, so it was a fantastic surprise. I’m super excited about reading it.

Robin Talley - As I Descended.jpg

I loved Lies We Tell Ourselves, so I couldn’t resist grabbing this one. And I’m in love with that cover – it’s so pretty.

Three Dark Crowns (Untitled, #1)

Speaking of pretty covers, isn’t this one gorgeous. It’s yet another books that I’m really desperate to read because it sounds incredible.

The Invisible Library (The Invisible Library, #1)

I’ve been fancying this one for a while, and I finally caved and bought it. It sounds like my dream book!

That’s my haul, but what’s new on your shelves this week? Have you read any of these?

12 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves #53”

  1. Oh, you got some wonderful books this week! I loved Gemina! I read an advanced copy, but I need the finished book (it has not come out in the US yet). The copy I read didn’t have many of the illustrations! As you know from Illuminae, they are an essential part of the book, so I don’t feel like I got the true experience. But the story itself was wonderful! Have fun reading it.

    1. I’m so excited about it, and I’m rereading Illuminae in preparation! I’m glad you enjoyed, it looks awesome. That’s such a shame you didn’t have all the illustrations though – they’re definitely essential. I hope you get a finished copy soon!

  2. That cover for As I Descended is REALLY pretty! I have to confess, I have a bad habit of picking up books just one the cover alone. lol! It doesn’t always work out in my favor.

    1. I know, right? It was definitely part of the reason for why I picked it up! And same, there are so many books with pretty covers that just don’t live up to expectations.

    1. I’ve seen a couple of reviews and everyone seems to have really enjoyed it, so here’s hoping it’s good! Plus gorgeous covers are always a plus. 😀

Leave a Reply

