read-a-thon

Fantasy Favourites: Grisha Playlist

FantasyFavourites2016

The fantasy favourites read-a-thon is hosted by two wonderful blogs: Olivia’s Catastrophe and Of Wonderland. It’s all about reading fantasy books! (if you hadn’t already guessed that from the title).

The Fantasy Favourites Read-a-thon officially started yesterday. Yay! I’m very excited, because I’m currently rereading the Throne of Glass series and have started with The Assassin’s Blade. I’ve actually already finished it (I’m on uni summer holidays, so I’ve got time), so I’ll be starting Throne of Glass tonight!

 One of the series’ for this year’s read-a-thon is the Grisha series by Leigh Bardugo, and that is what today’s challenge is all about. We have to put together a playlist based on the series (and some prompts provided by Inge, Aly and Olivia). I don’t actually listen to a huge amount of music, unless listening to Hamilton on repeat counts, so this one really is a challenge for me. I’ve given it a go though, so on with the playlist!

Heartrenders and Healers – A Theme Tune for the Corporalki

The first thing that came to mind was the Healing Incantation from Tangled, and once I’d thought of it there was no way I’d be able to come up with anything better. It may not be very applicable to heartrenders, but I think this song definitely suits the healers.

Controllers of the Wind – A Theme Tune for the Etherealki

Again, I couldn’t resist going down the Disney route here. I went for Let It Go from Frozen because, well, Elsa controls ice and Etherealki control storms and stuff. It connects, sort of…

Controllers of Metal – A Theme Tune for the Materialki

Seeing as I used Disney for the other two, I figured I’d complete the trio with another Disney song. The Materialki make stuff with magic, right? Well, what song could be better than Bibbidi-Bobbidi-Boo from Cinderella?? Personally, I don’t think there is any theme tune that could beat it. (I promise, this is the end of the Disney songs).

A Song For When You’re Scared To Soothe You While Crossing The Fold

This was definitely the easiest one for me to choose. I went for I Have Confidence from The Sound of Music, because it’s a song that has given me a boost of confidence in the past, and I feel it would work pretty well on The Fold. It’s exactly the sort of song you want to sing when you have no idea what’s about to happen to you.

A Song of Grandeur – You’ve Just Arrived At The Palace

I’ll admit, this one had me stumped for a while. What even is a song of grandeur? For a while, I was tempted to just choose the Downton Abbey theme tune! But then I had a look through my musical soundtracks and found one of my favourite songs from Wicked. That is, One Short Day. It’s perfect for when somebody’s arrived somewhere new, especially if that place is just incredible.

A Song About Traveling – You’re A Mapmaker With Alina

I was torn between two songs that I love for this one. One option was Made in England by The Shires, except it’s not really about traveling? It’s more about the things that are wonderful about home and how nice it is to have those things. So really, that wasn’t an option. My other option was State Lines, also sung by The Shires. Except that one is more of a love song than a travel song. (I totally recommend those two songs by the way). So I ended up going with a completely different option – Travel Song from Shrek the Musical! What could be more suitable?

A Song That Represents Alina’s Character

This one was really hard. Alina goes through a lot in the books and I think she changes quite a lot throughout. However, I ended up choosing On Top of the World from Dancing on the Edge. I was listening to it the other day and the lyrics really reminded me of Alina’s life, and the change in her life from being an unknown orphan to an incredibly powerful Grisha.

A Song That Represents Mal’s Character

To me, Mal is a very typical soldier and I always imagine him sitting around in pubs drinking with his mates. Hence why I chose The Story of Tonight from Hamilton. I could very easily see Mal being one of the guys dreaming about a revolution and he’d definitely be right there, fighting for his country.

A Song That Represents The Darkling

I don’t like The Darkling. At all. I have this really intense dislike for him, and that made it really hard to choose a song for him! However, I did find a couple of options. One of those is Who Wants To Live Forever, which I felt was pretty applicable to an ancient Grisha like The Darkling. I also considered Music of the Night, because some of the lyrics really reminded me of his personality. Really though, I am open to suggestions for songs representing The Darkling. What song would you choose?

A Song About Light

This one, on the other hand, was easy. I chose My Lighthouse by Rend Collective. It’s all about God being the light that guides you through the dark and it’s a wonderful song. There was literally no other song that I could’ve chosen for this one.

And you can check out all these songs in this handy dandy Spotify playlist! I ended up putting in all the songs I mentioned, because why not!

 And in case the playlist doesn’t work, you can find a link to it here.

 So what songs did you choose? Which of my choices do you agree with? How’s your reading going? And are you a Darkling fan?

Leave a Reply

