Fantasy Favourites Read-a-thon: Introduction!

FantasyFavourites2016

Today is an exciting day! Why? Because it’s the day to post my introduction post for the Fantasy Favourites Read-a-thon! It’s hosted by the fantastic blog Of Wonderland and challenges you to read fantasy books between the 10th and the 18th of July.

I actually only heard about this yesterday, and then rushed to sign up because it sounded like so much fun. Also, it’s my first time taking a part in a read-a-thon, so I’m really looking forward to it.

Anyway, onto the introduction!

Who are you?

I’m Elen, a book blogger from Wales who loves reading, cross-stitching and playing board games. Oh, I’m also a university student studying mathematics which is obviously a lot of fun…

Why are you joining the read-a-thon?

Fantasy is one of my favourite genres and always has been, so spending over a week exclusively reading fantasy sounds like a dream!

Which books do you intend to read?

So I’ve already read Throne of Glass, the Grisha books, and Percy Jackson (the three series’ that are being focused on this year), so I’m not too sure I’m yet. I’m currently debating between rereading the Throne of Glass books in time for Empire of Storms, or diving deeper into Robin Hobb’s books.

How many pages do you think you’ll manage?

Hopefully 900, if I manage 100 pages a day. My last few days of the read-a-thon will probably be spent on a beach, so I’m hoping to get a lot of reading time in then.

What’s your favourite thing about the fantasy genre?

I really love those moments in fantasy books where the characters visit a new town/city/village and the author gives you this wonderful description of the sights and sounds and smells. Those moments really bring the book to life for me. Plus there are sometimes dragons and, as we all know, dragons are the best.

Which fantasy books do you always recommend?

Well I’ve pushing A Darker Shade of Magic on my friends for a while now because that is a fantastic series. But if someone wants something fun and light-hearted, then I’d always go Percy Jackson. Oh, and the Narnia books. I’m a big fan of those.

Which fantasy books are you dying to read?

Empire of Storms, A Conjuring of Light, the next ACOTAR book, just to name a few. There is a long list though, a very long list.

If you could travel to one fantasy world, which one would it be?

Narnia. Without a doubt. I’ve been hooked on Narnia ever since I was little, and combining that with watching the BBC adaptations as I grew up has definitely put Narnia at the top of my favourite fantasy worlds list. I will say though, the Londons in A Darker Shade of Magic do come close.

And now I totally recommend that you head over to Of Wonderland to join in with the read-a-thon, because it’s going to be a lot of fun!

 

12 thoughts on “Fantasy Favourites Read-a-thon: Introduction!

  1. Thank you for joining! 😀 I only know Narnia from the movies, but it’s definitely a place I would love to visit. It sounds beautiful. And you’re right, that moment when they start describing new worlds always has such a magical feeling to it. ♥

  2. This is a great idea. I read a lot of fantasy too, just now trying to read more of other genres too, but a week dedicated to fantasy sounds amazing. I would just be back from holiday and quite busy so no idea how much I could get read. I’ll have a think to see if I fancy doing this. Great list of books 🙂

    1. I’m really excited about it! I’ve been reading quite a bit of non-fantasy lately, so I’m looking forward to jumping back into a good high fantasy series. 😀 I hope you find time to join in.

  3. I feel like a cheapskate! Everyone is going for 100 pages a day and I have my measly amount of 400 in total *hides* I hope you’ll be able to manage all those pages though! And I have heard a lot of good things about the Hobb books, so I think they sound like a good choice! At least having read all the books recommended for the read-a-thon it means you get to join in with all the games! 😀

    My post: http://olivia-savannah.blogspot.nl/2016/06/books-i-plan-to-consume-i-mean-read.html

    1. Don’t feel like that!! I’m only going for 900 because I know that I’ll mostly be reading while I’m on holiday. 🙂 I’d have no hope if I were at home for the week! Same, Robin Hobb’s been recommended to me a few times, but I’ve only read one book of hers so far (which I loved), so hopefully I’ll be able to read some more. 🙂

  4. I’m always pushing everyone to read A Darker Shade of Magic and so far no one has – it’s like they don’t trust my taste or something hmph. I LOVE THAT SERIES. 😀 I think it’s a great choice for the last question, but Narnia would be pretty cool too!

    1. IT’S SO GOOD! I might start buying it as a birthday present for my friends who complain about not knowing what to read. 😀

  5. I’m super excited for this read-a-thon and I can’t wait to read Percy Jackson for the first time. I’ve been meaning to finally pick it up ever since the movie first came out but I just never got around to it 😛 Hopefully, you reach your goal of all those pages! I would LOVE to travel to Narnia too! I seriously wish there was some magical wardrobe out there somewhere that I somehow could stumble upon. That would be a serious dream come true!

    1. I’m so excited for you!! Percy Jackson is one of my favourite series’, and it’s hilarious. I hope you enjoy it. 😀 And Narnia seems like such an amazing place! Finding that wardrobe would be incredible!!

  6. Hi! The read-a-thon is a lot of fun. Welcome! I participated last year and couldn’t pass up the chance to join in this year as well.

    I can’t wait for the next Darker Shade of Magic book as well. That ending in A Gathering of Shadows! Have you read the excerpt of the third book posted online? I shouldn’t have read it because it made me want it even more!

    I’ve always wanted to visit Wales because I have Welsh family but, sadly, haven’t made it there yet. One day…

    I hope you enjoy the read-a-thon. 🙂

    1. That ending KILLED me!! And no, I’m trying to stay away from the excerpt – if I read it I know I’ll be even more desperate for the next book to come out. 😀
      You should definitely visit Wales if you get the chance, it’s so pretty!

Leave a Reply

