top ten tuesday

My Favourite 2016 Releases

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is feature by the wonderful blog The Broke and Bookish which celebrates lists! Especially lists of books! You should all join in right now.

So far this year I’ve read 27 books, and eight of those had 2016 release dates. That already makes this week’s TTT a little hard since the topic is Favorite 2016 Releases So Far This Year, and I haven’t actually read ten.

Instead, here’s a list of my five favourite 2016 releases, all of which I gave either four or five stars.

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

goodreadsreview to come

IMG_20160609_180901

This book made me insanely happy, and I totally fell in love with all the characters. It also featured the cutest love interest I have ever come across in YA fiction. Yep, Clark is definitely one of my favourite characters.

A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab

goodreadsreview

IMG_20160620_114932

This was just insane. Everything about it was clever and magical and sometimes crazy. I’m desperate to carry on with the series because I need more of Kell and Lila right now.

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

goodreads review

IMG_20160620_114606

This was yet another fantastic book – it had an incredible world, the sassiest characters ever, a boatload of action, and it was pretty brutal. What more do you want in a book?

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

goodreads review

IMG_20160609_181615

Probably the most beautiful writing I’ve read this year. Maggie always enchants me with her books, and then she throws in a load of wonderful characters that keep me hooked.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

goodreads

IMG_20160620_120119

This was SO much better than ACOTAR (which I enjoyed anyway). This is possibly my favourite Sarah J. Maas book, or it at least ties with Crown of Midnight. The relationship development between Feyre and Rhysand was wonderful, and Mor became my new favourite character in the series. I’m very excited about book three.

Those are my top reads so far this year, but I’m expecting great things from the next six months!

What are your favourite 2016 releases? Are any of them on my list? Have you got any recommendations? Leave a link to your TTT in the comments so that I can come visit!

32 thoughts on “My Favourite 2016 Releases”

    1. SAME!! I keep trying to persuade my friends to read the series just so I can discuss it with them, but it has yet to happen. :/ And I REALLY need book three soon!!!

    1. I wish it was possible to buy more time – we’d be able to read so many more books! I hope you find the time to read these soon. 🙂

  1. Rebel of the Sands is in a couple of lists. Hadn’t heard about it until today but now I am intrigued. Great list.

    1. It definitely seems to be one of the favourite this year! It’s worth checking out, it’s a fantastic read. 😀

    1. Thank you! I’ve been experimenting with posting my own photos on the blog recently 😀

      I think it’s going to take a lot of work for a book to beat the dreaminess of Clark!

  2. I TOO NEED more of Kell and Lila! That ending for AGOS just about killed me, and I honestly couldn’t stop thinking about that book for days after I finished reading it. I’m so desperate for ACOL!

    Also glad to see The Unexpected Everything on your list! I actually did not like Clark, but I appreciate just about everything else in that book.

    Here’s my TTT. 🙂

    1. I had such a big book hangover after that ending! I’m so desperate for the next book to be released.

      No way! I think you must be the first person I’ve spoken to that doesn’t like Clark :O I’m glad you liked the rest of the book though 😀

    1. They’re all such good books, and they seem to be popping up on a lot of people’s lists this week 🙂

    1. I definitely recommend it! I bought it for the pretty cover without knowing what it was about, and I’m so glad I went for it 😀 I hope you get to it soon!

  3. I agree with you, ACOMAF is so much better than ACOTAR which I also enjoyed. The wait for the next book is going to be torture!!! Also loved The Raven King as well! There were a few more characters I would have liked to see in the epilogue but overall it was a spectacular ending to the series!

    1. I don’t know how I’m going to survive the wait for the next book! I was so impressed with The Raven King – series finales can be a bit hit or miss, but I think Maggie nailed it. 😀

    1. I think TUE is the perfect summer book (and I’m already considering a reread). 🙂 I hope you get to it soon!

    1. You REALLY need to read it! It’s such a lovely book, and so perfect for the summer. 😀

  4. AHHHH *flails because THE RAVEN KING* omg that book absolutely stole my heart. And just boggles my mind with how beautifully it’s written…like what wizardry does Maggie Stiefvater possess?!? IT IS WONDERFUL AND GLORIOUS *shrieks* I also loved AGOS (although I’m like in deep pain after that cliffhanger omg) and I really liked The Unexpected Everything too! It was so fun and Clark was adorable and PUPPIES. More dogs should have puppies in them. *nods*

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    1. I just can’t get over Maggie’s writing!! I pretty much want to devour all her books because of it 😀 AND THAT CLIFFHANGER! It was awful, and I need the next book asap.

Leave a Reply

