book review

The Raven King // Review

Today I come to you with a review of one of my most anticipated books of the year. Which book might that be? Oh, just The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater.

After what seems like years of waiting, The Raven King has made it to my bookshelf. Was it worth the wait? Definitely! Yet again, Maggie’s written an enchanting story which I couldn’t get enough of.

IMG_20160609_181615

This was such a magical read. Honestly, I think Maggie’s writing is definitely some of the most beautiful that I have ever read, and it’s so easy to fall in love with it. And the writing isn’t the only thing to love. It has fantastic characters with great character development, with such a gripping plot.

 Guys, this is how you write a series finale.

And, to be honest, I’m struggling to write a sensible review. This series is made of magic and it’s almost impossible to express that in words. Still, I’ll try to explain what I loved the most (although that was everything, so this might take a while).

IMG_20160609_181621

First stop: the characters. So there’s a huge cast in this book – we’ve got Blue, who I’ve loved reading about for the series. She’s developed so much, and I’ve enjoyed her storyline. However, it was the raven boys themselves and their relationships with Blue and each other which really captured my heart.

Gansey was his usual adorable self, and his relationship with Blue was just perfect. They made me laugh, they had me terrified that someone was going to die – they just work so well together.

Ronan and Adam have also developed a lot over the books, and I find them both so fascinating, especially Ronan. I’ve loved seeing them change and mature over the books, and The Raven King had me falling in love with them even more.

Of course, there were side characters too (to be honest, there are far too many to mention), but I will send a shout out to Henry Cheng, who was just brilliant. I really want to read more about him.

IMG_20160609_181629

Secondly: the plot. I devoured this story thanks to all the craziness that was going on, and I had to know if the gang would ever find Glendower (or Glyndŵr as he’s known in Wales). Following the gang’s adventure was so much fun (and also terrifying at times), and I was so satisfied with the ending – even if I am really disappointed that it’s all over.

Finally: Maggie Stiefvater’s incredibly gorgeous writing. The thing that draws me into Maggie’s worlds the most is her writing. It’s so dreamlike and magical. She’s one of those authors who could write anything and I’d probably devour it.

All in all, I adored this book and thought it was a wonderful end to the series.

Have you read The Raven King yet? What did you think of it? And how insanely beautiful is Maggie’s writing??

3 thoughts on “The Raven King // Review”

  1. I am currently reading The Raven Boys right now and so far I actually like it! I’m looking forward to finishing the series!

    1. I’m glad you’re enjoying it! The first book is fantastic. 🙂 I hope you enjoy the rest of the series just as much!

Leave a Reply

