Top Ten Bookworm Delights

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a feature hosted by the wonderful book blog, The Broke and Bookish, and involves making lists about books. LISTS! BOOKS! What more could you want?

Being a bookworm is a fabulous hobby. I mean, you get to read books, you get to blog about books, you get to meet other people who like books… The list goes on. And that’s what this week’s topic is all about! Celebrating all of the best things about being a bookworm:

Top Ten Bookworm Delights

Bookshops

Walking into a bookshop is just the best feeling ever. I could spend hours browsing Waterstones, or a local independent shop.

The smell of books

Then when you’re in the shop and you open up a book, and it has that new book smell. Or you’re in a charity shop, and the books have that old book smell, and it’s just so good.

The (awful) wait for the next book in the series which is also sort of exciting

You know what I mean? Even though it’s a horrible wait, you can get excited with fellow bookworms and discuss what might happen.

Books arriving in the post

The moment when that parcel you’re expecting arrives, and there are brand new books inside. The best moment ever!

Seeing someone else reading your favourite book

While I was at uni the other day, I saw a girl reading Rebel of the Sands, and I really wanted to just go fangirl with her! Except I didn’t, because I would’ve been so annoyed if someone had interrupted me while reading that book.

Binging on a book series

Hearing about a book series a year after it finished means reading it all in one go. SO much better than reading one book a year.

Seeing a book adapted into a film

Okay, so sometimes the final result goes badly wrong, but the process is so exciting. Seeing the actors for the first time, seeing the photos from filming, the trailer!

Forcing other people to read your favourite books

And then when they agree, seeing them feel the same pain as you did when you read that book.

Matching book covers

Let’s be honest, is there anything better than this?

Bookish gifts

There are so many insanely creative people out there making really cool bookish things, and it’s so hard to resist the temptation of just buying them all!

That’s my list, but what’s your favourite bookworm delight?

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Bookworm Delights

  1. Great List. I can relate to all of these and I had at-least three of them on my list too.Bookish gifts are great, I wish I could receive more of them though 😉

    1. I think I need to start giving subtle hints to my friends about bookish gifts. There are so many lovely ones out there 😀

  2. That wait for the next book in a series is just AWFUL, mostly because it’s usually soon long (like a year, maybe?). I tend to forget what happened in the previous book and have to reread it nearing the next book’s release date. 😛

    Also it’s been SO LONG since I last binged a series! I’ve been wanting to do so but I have to wait until some of my most anticipated series are finished so I can actually read all the books in one go.

    Here are my bookish delights. 🙂

    1. I forget stuff too! Like with The Raven King that’s just come out, I had to go look up what happened in the previous book. :/ Yeah, there are a few series’ I’m waiting until the summer to binge so that I know I’ll have time for them 😀

  3. Great post!

    The wait for the next book in a series is agonizing….last year I started ACOTAR and then found out I had over a year to wait. I had ToG to hold me over, but then got caught up. lol I love binge reading a series, but when I’m done I have no idea what to do with my life. So I start a new on, haha.

    My TTT. (:

    1. The wait is awful! But at least it’s not long until the next ACOTAR book – it’s out in May, right? 🙂 That’s so true, it’s really hard to get over a book binge, especially when it’s a great book series!

    1. It’s so nice finishing a book and knowing you can dive straight into the next one! Much, much better than waiting a year or two… 🙂

  4. I LOVE THESE SO MUCH TOO!! Particularly seeing other people reading favourite books…it’s awesome. It just shows they have good taste, right?! 😂 Oh oh! And I love sniffing books. I almost always sniff every book before I start it. #bestofever And I LOVE BOOK MAIL. Like even if I know what it’s going to be, it’s still like Christmas opening it. :’)

    1. Anyone I see reading favourite books is basically an instant friend – whether they know it or not… 😀 And I get way too excited over book mail, it’s definitely like Christmas!

Leave a Reply

