book review

Lady Midnight

I was introduced to the shadowhunter universe six years ago when I picked up Clockwork Angel. I devoured it, and went straight on to read the three Mortal Instruments books that were out at the time. I was addicted to those books, and by now I must have have read Clockwork Angel at least four or five times.

When The Mortal Instruments finished, I figured that would be the end of the shadowhunters world, but hey, at least it ended on a high. And then Cassandra Clare announced that she was writing more series’ set in the same world. I’ll admit, I was sceptical. I enjoyed all her books, but I wasn’t really sure if I wanted more shadowhunter books. So, I wasn’t sure if I’d even pick up Lady Midnight when it was released.

However, I did pick it up. I couldn’t resist its lovely cover and blue pages and overall shininess. Reviews were popping up all over the place, and people were loving it. I had to see for myself what all the fuss was about.

Cassandra Clare - Lady Midnight

The thing is, it seems that I’m a black sheep in the crowd. It’s not often that I disagree with the majority, but this time I did. I’m sad to say, Lady Midnight didn’t enchant me the way Clockwork Angel and City of Bones did all those years ago.

So, what’s Lady Midnight all about? W0ell, it’s sort of a murder mystery, which is cool (and different to what Clare has done before), and also has this whole forbidden love thing going on between parabatai.

We’ll start with the good stuff, because there were things I liked, and so I present you with a list.

  • The Blackthorn family was definitely my favourite thing. They were so big and messy with so much going on, and I loved the dynamics between them.
  • In particular, I fell a little for Mark Blackthorn. He was just such a sweetie and I really wanted to hug him.
  • Also, Cristina Rosales was fantastic, and I really loved her scenes with Mark because they were adorable.
  • The fact that Ty was autistic and also a shadowhunter and that was fine because his autism didn’t stop him from being a shadowhunter was very cool. That’s how fantasy books should do things. Also contemporary books. Just all books.
  • I liked the inclusion of the shadow market and all the dodgy stuff going on. I would very much like to see a bit more of that side of the shadowhunter world.

But like I said, I wasn’t a fan, and there were a few reasons for this. The first was Emma Carstairs. Back when she turned up in The Mortal Instruments, I liked her a lot and was curious about her. Now? She annoyed me a bit, and to be honest, it was more because of the whole forbidden love thing than anything else. I probably would’ve liked her a lot more if she didn’t constantly have Julian on her mind.

You see, I had been looking forward to the forbidden love part – the whole parabatai can’t fall in love, how will they deal with it stuff. But it was a bit of let down. Personally, I don’t think it was very well developed. I thought we’d Emma and Julian’s relationship develop and see them fall in love but the book jumped in sort of half way there. The two were constantly thinking about their feelings, yet not doing anything. It just annoyed me.

I also thought it was way too long. It didn’t need to be that long. Seriously, the story didn’t really start until a couple of hundred pages in, and everything just felt a bit slow. If this had been the first Cassandra Clare book that I’d read, I’m not sure if I would’ve bothered with her other books.

And that’s the thing. I’ve seen a lot of people say that you don’t have to have read any of Clare’s other books to read this one, but I disagree. Characters from previous books are mentioned every other chapter, and if I didn’t know who they were, I would’ve felt so alienated. It constantly refers back to things that have already happened, and as much as I loved seeing my favourites turn up (Tessa! Jem!), there was too much of it.

So, although I was hoping I’d love this, I really didn’t and so I personally wouldn’t recommend it. HOWEVER, if you’re a shadowhunters fan, go for it! You might love it, especially if forbidden romance is your thing. Check out goodreads for some five star reviews. If you haven’t read any Cassandra Clare though, I’d recommend starting with either City of Bones or Clockwork Angel because they will have you hooked.

Were you a fan of Lady Midnight? Am I really the only black sheep out there?

5 thoughts on “Lady Midnight”

    1. I’d definitely recommend her earlier books, especially The Infernal Devices. There are some great characters in that series! I really wish I’d enjoyed this one more though – I guess it just wasn’t right for me :/

Leave a Reply

