Top Ten Authors That Made Me Laugh

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the fabulous blog The Broke and Bookish, and is a chance for bloggers to share lists about books. So join in, because LISTS!

This week’s topic is Top Ten Books That Will Make You Laugh. This is such a fun topic, and had me scouring goodreads, trying to narrow the list down to my favourites. I basically ended up just listing authors, because there are some who instantly come to mind and I can’t name just one of their books.

Several of these authors are here for the sass (especially Cassandra Clare), whereas others are there because even the chapter titles in the books are hilarious and deserve books of their own.

Rick Riordan - Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief

Rick Riordan – author of Percy Jackson/Heroes of Olympus/Kane Chronicles/Magnus Chase

Cassandra Clare - City of Bones

Cassandra Clare – author of The Mortal Instruments/The Infernal Devices/The Dark Artifices

Alwyn Hamilton - Rebel of the Sands

Alwyn Hamilton – author of Rebel of the Sands

Maggie Stiefvater - The Raven Boys

Maggie Stiefvater – author of The Wolves of Mercy Falls/The Raven Cycle

Morgan Matson - Since You've Been Gone

Morgan Matson – author of Since You’ve Been Gone/Second Chance Summer/Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour

Sarah J Maas - Throne of Glass

Sarah J. Maas – author of Throne of Glass/A Court of Thorns and Roses

Marissa Meyer - Cinder

Marissa Meyer – author of The Lunar Chronicles

Laini Taylor - Daughter of Smoke and Bone US

Laini Taylor – author of Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett - Good Omens

Terry Pratchett – author of Discworld

(Neil Gaiman is also fantastically funny)

Roald Dahl - The BFG

Roald Dahl – author of SO MANY CHILDREN’S BOOKS

Books by all of these authors have had me smiling/giggling/laughing/snorting embarrassingly loud as I’ve been reading, and they’re all worth reading. Not only are they sometimes hilarious, these are all such good books too!

What books have made you laugh? And do you ever snort when you laugh…?

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Authors That Made Me Laugh

  1. Rick Riordan and Cassandra Clare is on my list as well. And I really enjoyed Matilda, but it’s the only Roald Dahl book I’ve read. Very funny though. 🙂
    Here’s my TTT

    1. I love Matilda! It’s definitely one of my favourite Roald Dahl books, but the others are definitely worth reading. They’re a lot of fun. 😀

  2. I didn’t think to put Cinder on my list! Thorne really made that book a lot funnier than it needed to be haha! Great list! 🙂

    My TTT

    1. I think Thorne made me fall in love with the series so much more than I would have otherwise. He had me laughing all the time 🙂

    1. I had such a hard time trying to choose which of his books to highlight, but The BFG is a classic. 😀

  3. I totally have to agree with Marissa Meyer and Sara J Maas. I have so many hilarious quotes highlight in the ToG books and lots of quotes from Cress/Aiko in the Lunar Chronicles. So many of these are on my TBR and I had no idea they were funny. That makes me so excited! lol

    Here’s myTTT. (:

    1. Same, there are so many Aiko moments which made me giggle. 🙂 And Thorne made me laugh a lot too! I hope you get to the ones on your TBR soon. 😀

    1. You have to read Good Omens asap! It’s a lot of fun, despite the setting being the apocalypse. It’s definitely worth a read. 🙂

  4. Ahhhh I’ve read ALL of these and completely agree with you!! *shrieks happily* Percy Jackson is altogether too hilarious and omg Rebel of the Sands! I LOVED the witty banter in that one. :’) And Maggie Stiefvater can basically do no wrong…I mean, her books are funny AND heartbreaking. WIZARDRY WRITING, BASICALLY.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    1. Maggie Stiefvater is perfection!! I don’t understand how she writes like that. It’s insane! And Percy Jackson is the most hilarious series I will ever read. Nothing will EVER beat it. 😀

Leave a Reply

