Rebels of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

Recently, everywhere I looked in the blogosphere, there was one book popping up all over the place. Which book might that be? Oh, just Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton – the most FABULOUS, WONDERFUL BOOK AROUND.

Can you tell I’m in love with it too?

Alwyn Hamilton - Rebel of the Sands

When I picked it up from Waterstones, I had no clue what it is was about. Honestly, I bought it for the cover. (But can you blame me? It’s gorgeous!) Once I started reading it though, I was hooked. This book set my imagination on fire as I entered into a Wild West-esque world filled with Persian mythology and incredible characters. Every time I put it down, I couldn’t wait until the next time that I’d be able to read it. See? So in love.

In Rebel of the Sands, we meet Amani, who’s desperate to leave her home town (where everyone is rather sexist and the only thing in her future is marriage). Luckily for her, she meets Jin and the two gallop away and have a whirlwind adventure. Oh, and there’s a rebellion going on. And Amani is the awesome with a gun. And also Queen of Sass.

It’s tempting to finish the review there, because that is literally all you need to know. But, let me make a quick list to tempt you if you’re not convinced yet (although I don’t know why you wouldn’t be convinced yet).

  1. There are fabulous, sassy characters. For starters, we have our main characters Amani and Jin, both of whom are so much fun to read about. Plus there’s a whole host of other characters that turn up throughout, and each is so unique.
  2. The most incredible world full of magic and also guns and shooting people. Alwyn does such a great job of bringing her world to life – it was so easy to visualise what was going on. Plus, learning about the world didn’t ever feel like an info-dump. Everything was expertly weaved together and I devoured anything I could learn about the world.
  3. Are you a fan of fast-paced action? Read this book. There is so much action! It doesn’t let up for a minute, and it’s one of the reasons why I just couldn’t stop reading.
  4. Brutal. Absolutely brutal. If you’re worried this is one of the books where nobody gets hurt, think again. Alwyn Hamilton is happy to have her characters get hurt, and most of the time there is definitely someone shooting at Amani or Jin, or both. There were times when I was on the edge of my seat because I was terrified one of my favourites might die. Yep, it’s one of those books.

So, let’s recap: magic, guns, and sass. Everything you could want and more. So GO READ IT. (And then come back and fangirl with me because it’s incredible.)

6 thoughts on “Rebels of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

  1. Great review and very convincing! I got this book in my February uppercase Box. I’ve been meaning to get it, but life is crazy. It sounds awesome though! I love characters with lots of sass and not knowing if they’ll make it to the end. (Is that weird r morbid? Haha)

    1. It’s so good! I hope you enjoy it. 🙂 And I get what you mean, not knowing if the characters will live makes it so much more exciting (and sometimes terrifying) to read.

Leave a Reply

