tag

The Ultimate Book Tag

I was tagged to do the ultimate book tag by Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Geek back in, umm, March (which totally wasn’t almost a year ago…). But I’ve had this in my drafts for a while so I figured I should actually post it! You can check our her post here.

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

If I’m reading a physical book, I can manage about ten minutes of reading and then I remember that it makes me feel ill. However, I can read on my nook without any problems. So I guess the answer is sometimes.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Hmm, probably Laini Taylor. Her writing is just so beautiful and magical, and it’s so easy to imagine the insane world she created in a Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

3. Harry Potter series or the Twilight saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Is this a trick question? Definitely Harry Potter! I grew up with it and am so in love with the series. It’s a huge part of my childhood so there’s no way I could choose any other book over it.

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books…)?

Apart from a book and an ereader… Nothing very exciting. Just the usual purse, keys, library card, epipen etc.

5. Do you smell your books?

Maybe… They smell so good though! (Especially brand new ones).

6. Books with or without little illustrations?

Definitely with.

7. What book did you love while reading but discover later it wasn’t quality writing?

I can’t think of any specific books but I’d imagine there are quite a lot of books that I read when I was younger which had pretty bad quality writing. Thinking that far back is hard though!

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

Umm, not that I remember. I genuinely can’t think of a single thing.

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

According to GoodReads, it’s The Magic Finger by Roald Dahl.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

GoodReads says it’s The Complete Stories of Sherlock Holmes. (I’ve barely read a fifth of it…)

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future being an author?

Not really. I’ve scribble stuff in my spare time, and I’ve taken part in a couple of NaNoWriMo’s but I can’t see myself as an author. I’d be way too busy reading to write.

12. When did you get into reading?

When I was very small. My parents used to read to me, and then I learnt to read myself pretty quickly.

13. What is your favourite classic book?

I really like North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell (but that might be slightly influenced by Richard Armitage in the BBC version). Also, do the Narnia books count as classics? Because they’re incredible.

14. In school was your best subject – Language/Arts/English?

None of the above. I’m doing maths at uni so my mind is definitely more on the sciencey side. Although I did love history, which is counted as an art, right?

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated… What would you do?

I’d probably claim I hadn’t read it, and then hide it somewere on my booksheld. I don’t like disappointing people.

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or The Hunger Games?

On the dystopian side, I suppose The Declaration series by Gemma Malley. It’s so, so good, but barely anyone seems to have read it.

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

I draft posts and then don’t  post them until a year or so later…

18. What is your favourite word?

My favourite word is actually a Welsh word: chwyrligwgan. It’s Welsh for merry-go-round, but also means going round in circles. It’s just really fun to say (but I can’t find any pronunciation videos anywhere).

19. Are you a nerd, dork or dweeb? Or all of the above?

Am I allowed to go for geek instead? Because if I can, definitely geek.

20. Vampires or fairies? Why?

Fairies. Because I want to read more books about evil fairies and mischievous fairies. Plus vampires are kind of boring (unless they’re acted by Aidan Turner on Being Human).

21. Shapeshifters or angels? Why?

Shapeshifters, because they have such cool powers. I don’t think it would be possible to get bored if you were a shapeshifter.

22. Spirits or werewolves? Why?

Hmm, maybe werewolves? That’s a hard one.

23. Zombies or vampires?

Zombies. Zombie apocalypses are always so tense and brutal, and make great reading/watching.

24. Love triangle or forbidden love?

Forbidden love. No contest.

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Definitely action-packed. I’m much more a fantasy fan than contemporary, so action-packed books are definitely more my style. However, I still love shipping characters, so those love scenes are crucial!

I’m not going to tag anyone because it’s been so long since I was tagged, but feel free to do it if you fancy it. Or answer some of the questions in the comments!

And I’m curious: what’s your favourite word?

Leave a Reply

