stacking the shelves

Stacking the Shelves #48

STSmall[4]

Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, and is a way for bloggers to share their newest additions to their bookshelves.

I’m stacking my shelves with quite a few new additions this week, but they were all bargains in my opinion!

Laura Dockrill - Lorali

Lorali by Laura Dockrill

I saw this in Waterstones, and when I discovered it was about mermaids it intrigued me. I’ve actually almost finished it, and it’s definitely surprised me!

Rachel Caine - Ink and Bone

Ink and Bone (The Great Library #1) by Rachel Caine

I bought this because of the words “Great Library of Alexandria”. I actually have no clue what it’s about, but the cover’s pretty.

Robert Galbraith - The Silkworm

The Silkworm (Cormoran Strike #2) by Robert Galbraith

This is the first of my charity shop buys this week. (It was fifty pence!!) I’ve been dying to read this for a while, so there was absolutely no way I wasn’t going to buy it.Moira Young - Blood Red Road

Blood Red Road (Dust Lands Trilogy #1) by Moira Young

Moira Young - Raging Star

Raging Star (Dust Lands Trilogy #3) by Moira Young

I’ve been interested in this series for a while, so when I saw books #1 and #3 at a charity shop, I figured they were worth getting.

Julia Golding - The Gorgon's Gaze

The Gorgon’s Gaze (The Companions Quartet #2) by Julia Golding

Julia Golding - The Mines of the Minotaur

Mines of the Minotaur (The Companions Quartet #3) by Julia Golding

Two more books from the charity shop. One of my favourite books from when I was younger was Dragonfly by Julia Golding, so I had to pick up these two. Now I just need to find the first book in the series…

What am I reading?

As I mentioned, I’m close to finishing Lorali and it’s definitely not what I expected. I like it though – the writing style is quite different from what I’m used to, plus it’s set in England (which is a change for fantasy books).

And on the telly?

I’m still working through Castle – I have about two episodes left of series five. I’m also watching Chuck, which is just a lot of fun.

In Other News…

  • My cousin is getting married today!! While you’re reading this, I’m probably at her wedding and I bet it’s going to be a wonderful day!
  • I’m on holiday at my other cousins’ house, and it’s so nice and relaxing here.
  • I went camping with twelve school friends and we had a brilliant and crazy time. Definitely one of my favourite holidays, despite the fact that we all looked like tomatoes after one day on the beach!

What’s new on your shelves? Any bargain buys this week?

6 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves #48”

    1. I really loved Ink and Bone – I didn’t have many expectations for it, so it was a nice surprise. And I really like the cover I’ve got, it’s really pretty. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

