discussion

My TBR Jar

What did I get up to this weekend? Well, I decided to create my own TBR Jar!

tbrjar2
The finished product

Why exactly? I was bored and got inspired for about five minutes! I just grabbed an empty jar and some paper and, boom! A TBR jar was created. It was actually pretty fun, although it took me ages to write out all the book titles. Clearly, my TBR is a little too long.

book list
So many books!

I’m looking forward to using it though – hopefully it’ll mean that I actually get through some of my TBR instead of just buying new books all the time… Okay, I’m still going to buy new books all the time. Still, picking a book at random to read should be interesting so I’m looking forward to experimenting with it.

tbrjar1
Chilling on the widowsill

So how do you choose what books to read next? Do you have a TBR jar? Or are you more of a mood reader?

10 thoughts on “My TBR Jar”

    1. Same! I always end up prioritizing any new books I’ve bought, so I figured this would be a great way to get round to reading the older ones. It was a lot of fun to make as well. πŸ™‚

  1. That’s such a cute idea! I don’t know if it would work for me though. Unless I am expected to read a book at a certain time I usually just sample a few chapters of the books that are calling to me and see which one grabs my interest.

    1. Fair enough. I tend to just pick up whichever book is closest to me, so I don’t really see myself as a mood reader at all. I’m looking forward to trying it out. πŸ™‚

  2. I have started this recently too, mainly put in my ARCs and a few books I have had for ages, hoping to get through them and since I have so many books, I will add a few more each month. (If I manage to get through some.) I currently reading the third book from my jar so it seems to be working okay. Good Luck, hope it works πŸ™‚

    1. Cool, I’m glad it’s going well for you. πŸ™‚ I pretty much wrote down every single one of my unread books, so the jar is pretty full at the moment. Hopefully that’ll change soon!

      1. Ye hopefully, I have far too many on my kindle, every so often I go on a free book binge and buy loads so too many to write down atonce. I want it mainly for my ARCs anyway so I need to keep my normal books down to a minimum until I get rid of some of them.

  3. Your TBR jar is a really cute idea! Mind if I copy your style?
    In my case, when I first started reading using Kindle, I usually follow the first in, first out rule. But now that I’ve got more than 300 TBRs, I just close my eyes, and push the buttons on my device and point blindly.. Whatever title my finger touched, that is the one I’m gonna read next.

    1. Go ahead! That’s exactly what I used to do with my ebooks, and then I ended up downloading way too many of them. πŸ™‚ Sounds like your system is working well for you!

Leave a Reply

