Dear First Year

Dear first year,

Thanks for all the amazing memories that I’ve had. Even back in freshers week, the year was already shaping up to be awesome, and that was definitely thanks to my wonderful housemates. I was terrified of meeting them before uni started, and now I’m going to miss living with them next year so much! We’ve had a ball – playing sardines back in October, our amazing Christmas meal and midnight walk across the golf course, the Harry Potter nights with eleven people squished into one student bedroom, the Scrabble tournaments… The list goes on and on. Thank you for sticking me in a house with such brilliant people.

Thanks for the course mates too. I could never have managed a year of maths without my crazy tutor group. Seriously, they’re all great and we had a laugh. And it’s awesome that I get to live with some of them next year in an actual house. With a sofa! The amount of cake and hot chocolate we’ve had has been super unhealthy but hey! It got us through algebra problem sheets.

And thank you so much for my church and Christian Union. I don’t think I could’ve coped without the friends I’ve made through CU. We’ve had some very weird midnight walks across campus, and some great nights watching The Musketeers and Poldark. I’ve grown so much in my faith too and that’s definitely thanks to encouragement from both the CU and my church. They’ve given me so many opportunities to volunteer and help other people, so I’m grateful for that. And thank you so much, God, because I know none of this would be possible without you.

Finally, thanks for the opportunity to be a part of the orchestra and choir. The concerts have been great fun, and singing in the abbey was definitely a highlight. I can’t wait to get involved again next year.

Thanks first year, for being absolutely awesome.

I’ll miss being a fresher.

3 thoughts on “Dear First Year

  1. Wow! You had a great year! Congrats! May your future years in university be even more fun and fulfilling!

Leave a Reply

