Top Ten Books I Want To See As Films/TV Shows

toptentuesday

This is a feature that combines books and lists!

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

I remember doing this topic back in 2013 (beware the bad formatting), and it was one of the first TTT posts I ever did. I can’t believe it’s been a year and a half since then! Anyway, enough with the reminiscing. These are my

Top Ten Books I’d Love To See As A Film/TV Show

The Films

 1. A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

V E Schwab - A Darker Shade of Magic

Because magic. And parallel worlds. What more could you want?

2. Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

Abigail Haas - Dangerous Girls

I just think a YA thriller would be so good! And this book has so many twists and turns, especially that ending.

3. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Elizabeth Wein - Code Name Verity

Despite the fact that I would cry buckets if this were a film, I think if it was done well it could be a great film! And also absolutely heartbreaking.

4. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Morgan Matson - Since You've Been Gone

This would be such a cute contemporary with a focus on friendship. Yes, there’s romance, but there’s so much friendship and cuteness! Seriously, someone make me happy YA contemporary film. You know, one where nobody dies at the end.

5. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Erin Morgenstern - The Night Circus

So this one would be a little weird, but imagine the circus themes! They’d be so magical and enchanting and ugh. Just imagine it.

The TV Shows

6. The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson - The Final Empire

A tv show could do this world so much justice. Yes, it would be super expensive to recreate the world of the Mistborn, but it could go into so much detail! And I’d love to see Vin and Kelsier and the gang just doing their thing.

7. Heist Society by Ally Carter

Ally Carter - Heist Society

So right now I’m just imagining a show were Kat and friends just go and steal things in a really complicated manner. To be honest, I just want thieves and heists and action.

8. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Marissa Meyer - Cinder

SCI-FI! Because there aren’t many sci-fi tv shows. Apart from The 100, which is awesome, so clearly we need more. Please?

9. Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson - Steelheart

Yes, it’s another Sanderson book, but so what? Superhero stuff is doing so well at the moment, so I bet people would love Steelheart. Especially seeing as the heroes are all humans and it’s the villains who have the superpowers.

10. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J Maas - Throne of Glass

Assassins! Murders! Celaena and Chaol! It would be amazing and wonderful and it would have to be a tv show to do it any justice.

On another note, wouldn’t this kid make the perfect little Celaena? (I recommend skipping to 1:22).

So, what books would you like to see be made into films or tv shows? Do you agree with any of my choices?

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Want To See As Films/TV Shows

  1. Ooh we have quite a few the same this week… The Night Circus, The Lunar Chronicles and Code Name Verity. I’d love to see them as movies. Throne of Glass and Dangerous Girls are fantastic choices!

    1. I think they’d all work really well, especially Code Name Verity! I’d definitely have to pack a lot of tissues if I went to see it though.

    1. Clearly The Night Circus is a film that everybody wants. Someone really needs to hurry up and make it. 😀

    1. I feel like everybody has Throne of Glass this week. 🙂 Clearly it needs to be made into a film very soon!

  2. The Night Circus. Yes, please! I have such great visuals in my head when I read this. I also think the slow, deliberate pacing would work really well in this media.

    1. The sets for the circus would be stunning! And yeah, I agree about the pacing. It’s as if it was always meant to become a film. 🙂

  3. Oh my God, 100x YES to Dangerous Girls! That would be SO epic and I’d probably pee in my pants watching it. Also Cinder–especially the sequels because I love Wolf and Captain Thorne the most. ❤ I didn't love Throne of Glass, but Crown of Midnight & Heir of Fire would look PERFECT on the big screen. 😉

    Aimee @ Deadly Darlings

    1. Definitely! I had a hard time picking between Heist Society and Gallagher Girls, but I think W. W. Hale pushed me that little bit towards Heist Society. 😀

  4. Code Name Verity is on everybody’s list this week. I think that means I should read it. And The Night Circus is also popping up a lot this week (including on my list) because obviously the adaptation would be beautiful and perfect.

    1. You NEED to read Code Name Verity. It’s beautiful and heartbreaking and an all round brilliant book. And The Night Circus would be stunning if it was adapted.

  5. Heist society would totally rock… even a mini series or a tv series would work with it because there is so much back story potential. Great list!

Leave a Reply

