book review

Review: Savage Light

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000448_00034]

Marsa has always struggled with the fact she goes unnoticed. Her best friend is the one chosen to rid the world of all evil; the man Marsa loves barely knows she exists; and her sole remaining family member dies at the hand of the last evil man in the world.

When all evil is finally defeated, Marsa thinks she’ll at last have the life she wants, even if her mother isn’t there to share it with. And maybe she’ll discover the love of her life loves her back. Only a new quest is set before her and her friends. By the end of their journey, Marsa will question everything she knows. She’ll have to redefine how she wants others to notice her, before their entire world is destroyed.

I want to thank the author for sending me a copy of Savage Light to review. Thank you!

When I read the blurb for this one, it sounded really interesting. A book about the best friend of the chosen one? Where all evil has been destroyed? It sounded a lot like my sort of book. And did I enjoy it? Yes, I did.

In this book, we follow the story of Marsa, who’s always been in the background compared to her mother and her best friend Kaylyn, who was chosen to defeat all evil.I thought it was really interesting seeing into the head of the best friend for once – finding out how Marsa felt about the whole thing. What I really liked was that it wasn’t about Marsa being jealous of Kaylyn, but instead she did everything she could to support her best friend in the fight against evil.

One thing I wasn’t so keen on about Marsa, and about the book in general, was how focused she was on romance. I totally understand the fact that she fancied Jorrin, but she thought about him nearly all the time and I just got a bit bored of it, especially when there were definitely other things that she needed to be prioritising. Considering that there was some pretty weird stuff going on, it just seemed like Marsa spent most of her time analysing every single move that Jorrin made.

I’m mentioning Jorrin quite a bit, but who is he? He, Marsa, Kaylyn and the rest of the main characters in this book were Zophas, a group of people who had magic and helped to fight against evil. They were a great bunch, and I really liked the relationships between Marsa, Kaylyn and Jorrin. I thought the bond between Marsa and Kaylyn was really strong and I loved the way they encouraged each other. I also thought Tove, Marsa’s other best friend, was a total sweetheart and probably my favourite character.

The thing I liked the most about this book though was the ending. Although I felt it was a little rushed, it was so unexpected and very clever. I was genuinely shocked at what happened, and it’s really made me want to read more about these characters.

One last thing. I didn’t totally understand the world and backstory in this book, but that is completely my fault – it turns out Savage Light is a companion novel to Ever Darkening, and so I think some of the questions I have would definitely be answered in that book. It’s definitely not needed to enjoy this book, but I would imagine that it would make a few things a little clearer..

If you want to know what happens after evil is defeated in the world, then it’s worth trying this one out!

5 thoughts on “Review: Savage Light”

    1. I fancy trying out Ever Darkening, it looks good. I wish I’d read it before Savage Light, because there were times when I was a little confused in this one. I hope you enjoy it!

  1. I think I might try out Ever Darkening too. I liked Savage Light well enough but I did have some issues with it. I agree on the obsession with romance overpowering the weird stuff going on. And I thought the ending was rushed and the pacing was a little off. I liked the overall idea though and I’m sure reading the other book would answer some of the questions I have. Great review!

    1. The ending surprised me a lot, but it did confuse me a bit and I think that was probably because it was a bit rushed. Hopefully reading Ever Darkening will clear things up a bit for both of us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

