book review

Review: The Alloy of Law (Mistborn #4)

Brandon Sanderson - The Alloy of LawCenturies after the Mistborn trilogy, Scadrial is on the verge of modernity – railroads, electric street lights, and skyscrapers. Waxillium Ladrian can Push on metals with his Allomancy and use Feruchemy to become lighter or heavier at will. After 20 years in the dusty Roughs, in the city of Elendel, the new head of a noble house may need to keep his guns.

You may know that I love the Mistborn series. It’s just fantastic and is one of my all time favourite fantasy series’. That obviously meant that I needed to read this book, a spin-off set three hundred years into the future. All I really expected from it was a stand alone story which would be a nice little read. And what did I get? Oh, just my new favourite book!

Yes, I think I actually rather The Alloy of Law to the original series. Only just, mind, because the original trilogy is fantastic. What I love about this book though is that it combines the original magic system from the Mistborn books with technology. It combines magic with guns and trains and explosions! Who wouldn’t want to read that? It has so many brilliant action scenes, and one of my favourites take place on the roof of a moving train. I just thought it was incredible.

The characters definitely impacted me a lot too. Our hero, Wax, is really passionate about saving the world from criminals, and does everything he can to create peace (even though he’s no longer a lawkeeper). He shows off some awesome magic skills throughout the book, and his action scenes are amazing. Marasi is absolutely adorable – she’s a good shot with a rifle, but is also super smart and likes to throw in random statistics about the law and criminals. Plus she’s pretty much Wax’s biggest fan and is super sweet. And then we have Wayne. Ah, Wayne… His banter with Wax had me laughing a lot, and he also has some great disguise skills. I would quite happily read an entire book about Wayne and his acting skills and his thievery habits.

I think the fact that I already knew the basics of the world really helped me enjoy this book. It gave Sanderson a lot more freedom to focus on how the world has developed because the reader already knows the history, and so it was really interesting seeing how things had changed. I also though the way religion had developed within the world was very interesting, and I really enjoyed seeing how the beliefs of each character effected how they lived their lives.

This book moves magic into a more modern, Victorian-esque age and its pages are filled with epic action scenes involving train robberies and explosions and lots of clever ways of using magic. Its characters are smart and engaging, and the storyline is intriguing. If you enjoyed the Mistborn books at all, I definitely recommend reading this book.

1 thought on “Review: The Alloy of Law (Mistborn #4)”

Leave a Reply

