Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter (The Sin Eater’s Daughter #1)

Melinda Salisbury - The Sin Eater's Daughter

I am the perfect weapon.
I kill with a single touch.

Twylla is blessed. The Gods have chosen her to marry a prince, and rule the kingdom. But the favour of the Gods has it’s price. A deadly poison infuses her skin. Those who anger the queen must die under Twylla’s fatal touch.

Only Lief, an outspoken new guard, can see past Twylla’s chilling role to the girls she truly is.

Yet in a court as dangerous and the queen’s, some truths should not be told…

Hmmm… I’m not sure this book was quite what I was expecting. When I first read that synopsis, I thought it sounded incredible. However, the actual book did not live up to my expectations and I was left a little disappointed. Why wasn’t I a big fan?

This book had a lot of potential, but it fell a bit flat.

Don’t get me wrong, the story’s alright, but it could have been so much more! A girl who can kill with just one touch! There are so many paths this book could have taken, but instead it went down one which wasn’t particularly exciting (and the plot got a little lost along the way). My problem with the plot was that there wasn’t much of it – it was never really going anywhere, and half of it was just filled with romance anyway. I don’t have a problem with romance in books (I’m a huge shipper of far too many couples), but this romance just didn’t appeal to me, and that was partly because of…

The sort-of love triangle.

That was a big reason for my dislike, and also the fact that I never really knew the characters. I ended up knowing plenty about Twylla’s past, thanks to all the flashbacks we get, but I didn’t get attached to her character at all. As a result, I wasn’t really rooting for her and Lief to get together because I wasn’t invested in them. However, don’t let me put you off. I’m generally not a fan of romance-focused books, especially when I was expecting lots of dead people.

However…

There are two things which I did really like. I found the world-building fascinating, and a lot of thought had definitely gone into it. I loved how details were woven into the plot and turned into a big deal towards the end. And that ending! Well, it was very unexpected considering the lack of plot earlier in the book. It surprised me a lot and know I’m very curious about the next book.

I’m not yet sure I’m going to carry on, but I am definitely intrigued. And if you’re interested by that synopsis or enjoy romance/fantasy books, it’s worth having a look at.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter (The Sin Eater’s Daughter #1)

  1. I’ve definitely been umming and ahhing about whether I should pick up this book. But your review confirms the things I’ve heard around. I really want it to live up to its similar-sounding Shatter Me (one of my favourite trilogies) but it sounds like it might be a little flat. I think it will have a lower TBR priority but I’ll still pick it up one day. Loved your review!

    1. I think it’s worth reading just to see where the rest of the series is headed. But yeah, I wouldn’t say this one is a must-read, sadly.

Leave a Reply

