book review

Review: Shadow Study (Soulfinders #1)

Maria V Snyder - Shadow StudyOnce, only her own life hung in the balance…

When Yelena was a poison taster, her life was simpler. She survived to become a vital part of the balance of power between rival countries Ixia and Sitia.

Now she uses her magic to keep the peace in both lands—and protect her relationship with Valek. Suddenly, though, dissent is rising. And Valek’s job—and his life—are in danger. As Yelena tries to uncover her enemies, she faces a new challenge: her magic is blocked.And now she must find a way to keep not only herself but all that she holds dear alive.

I’ve been very excited for this book for quite a while, and it definitely lived up to my expectations. Although I wasn’t sure to begin with if I was going to like this book as much as the others by Snyder, I loved it by the time I turned that last page. Returning to the world of Ixia and Sitia was amazing, and I couldn’t get enough of revisiting my favourite characters.

In this series, there are several characters that I totally love – Yelena, Valek, Ari and Janco just to name a few. Yelena, our heroine, had some really nice character development in this book, and I also liked reading about how her relationship with Valek has developed. I just wish they had more scenes together – they’re too adorable. A couple of new characters were introduced too, and I got really attached to Onora. She was brilliant!

And, of course, I can’t not mention Ari and Janco. They didn’t disappoint (although I wish they’d had more scenes together).

The story itself had a lot of twists. I got surprised by the plot so many times, especially at the end! I’m not yet over some of the things that happened in the book. I have to say though, Snyder’s books can get a little repetitive sometimes and there were some scenes that I felt could’ve been pulled from any of the books in the series. However, this repetitive-ness wasn’t as obvious as it has been in previous books, and so the plot was a lot more interesting than a couple of the previous books.

Overall, it was a very enjoyable read, and I got really addicted to it. It’s definitely a great start to this new series, so I can’t wait for the next book to be released.

Have you read any of Maria V. Snyder’s books? And aren’t Valek and Yelena the best?

2 thoughts on “Review: Shadow Study (Soulfinders #1)”

  1. I love all her books. I was glad to get into this world again as I prefer it to the healer’s series. I wanted more. The last paragraph got me good. I could not believe it.

    1. Yeah, I think I rather this series too, especially the books about Yelena. And that last paragraph surprised me so much! I couldn’t believe it!

Leave a Reply

