book review

Review: The Hero of Ages (Mistborn #3)

Brandon Sanderson - The Hero of Ages

Tricked into releasing the evil spirit Ruin while attempting to close the Well of Ascension, new emperor Elend Venture and his wife, the assassin Vin, are now hard-pressed to save the world.This adventure brings the Mistborn epic fantasy trilogy to a dramatic and surprising climax as Sanderson’s saga offers complex characters and a compelling plot, asking hard questions about loyalty, faith and responsibility.

Yet again, Brandon Sanderson has amazed me with one of his books. I honestly didn’t think that the series could get any better, and then… it did! Yep, Sanderson is one awesome writer.

To be honest though, I’m not really sure how much I can really say about this book. My thoughts are pretty similar to what I said about The Final Empire and The Well of AscensionI can’t really say that much about the plot either without spoiling anything. However, I will try and somehow tell you why you should read this book (and the rest of the series!)

One of the best parts of this series is the magic system. Things are still being discovered about it in the final book of the trilogy and I loved seeing how the whole system worked. Seeing Vin and the other Mistborn in action too was also awesome – I’m in love with the action scenes in this series. They’re so easy to visualize, and impossible to put down.

The plot itself is full of plot twists. How Sanderson managed to cram so many into one book, I don’t know. Seriously though, I could not have predicted half the things that happened in that book, and especially not that ending. It took me totally by surprise (and seemed totally obvious in hindsight). It was a fantastic way of ending the trilogy.

I’ve got to say though, the characters stole the show. That was the main reason I was reading and I got so involved in their stories. I needed to know what would happen to Vin and Elend, and what on earth was happening to Spook (just to name a few characters). There were definitely some characters I rathered reading about, but every chapter was interesting (and some just totally surprised me).

Basically, this book was everything I wanted it to be and more. A brilliant ending to an awesome trilogy.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Hero of Ages (Mistborn #3)”

    1. I know! Every time I read one of his books, I’m just sat there in awe of his creativity when it comes to magic systems. 😀

Leave a Reply

