book review

Review: The Glass Magician (The Paper Magician Trilogy #2)

Charlie N. Holmberg - The Glass Magician

Three months after returning Magician Emery Thane’s heart to his body, Ceony Twill is well on her way to becoming a Folder. Unfortunately, not all of Ceony’s thoughts have been focused on paper magic. Though she was promised romance by a fortuity box, Ceony still hasn’t broken the teacher-student barrier with Emery, despite their growing closeness.

When a magician with a penchant for revenge believes that Ceony possesses a secret, he vows to discover it…even if it tears apart the very fabric of their magical world. After a series of attacks target Ceony and catch those she holds most dear in the crossfire, Ceony knows she must find the true limits of her powers…and keep her knowledge from falling into wayward hands.

The delightful sequel to Charlie N. Holmberg’s The Paper Magician, The Glass Magician will charm readers young and old alike.

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

On Monday, I reviewed The Paper Magicianthe first book in the series. My feelings were mixed, but I was hoping that this book would be better. It wasn’t. If anything, it was more of a disappointment than the first book. It’s a shame, because I really wanted to like this series.

My problems with this book are pretty similar to the ones I had in the first book: a main character that I didn’t care about being the main one of those. Yep, Ceony and I still didn’t click. I actually connected to her less in this book than I did in the previous one. Why is that? Well, it’s because she spent the entire book thinking about the fact that she was in love with Emery, her mentor/teacher/person. Now, I like Emery (he reminds me of Merlin for some reason), but I just couldn’t get behind the Ceony/Emery ship. The feelings weren’t there.

I’ll admit, the plot was better. We didn’t spend chapters and chapters traipsing through someone’s heart this time. There was some proper action and a couple of interesting (and rather creepy) villains were introduced. There was an unexpected twist thrown in too. It was still too slow for me though (although that might have been because of Ceony’s obsession with Emery.)

The book did have something going for it though, and that was its magic system. It’s still awesome! This time, there was a lot more about glass magic (as the title suggests) and I loved seeing how that worked. Again, there were some really good ideas in there. The world building is definitely one of the strong points in this book.

Yet again, I was disappointed by this series. Although I loved the magic system, it didn’t make up for Ceony constantly thinking about the fact that she and Emery aren’t together. I can’t see myself continuing with the series.

However, don’t let me put you off. Check it out if you fancy some magic, some romance and a bit of historical fiction thrown in.

Leave a Reply

