Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3)

Maggie Stiefvater - Blue Lily, Lily Blue

There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.

I had been waiting to read this book for a long, long time and (for some reason unknown even to me), I didn’t read it when it first came out. Instead, I put myself through the agony of merely looking at the book if I entered a bookshop and having to make do with only reading the rave reviews that soon flooded in.
However, you have probably noticed that this is a review, so I must have read it at some point. You, of course, are correct. I bought of after Christmas because I just couldn’t wait any longer. And now I really regret not reading it sooner.
Yes, it was awesome!

Maggie Stiefvater - Blue Lily, Lily Blue

Returning to the world of Blue and Gansey, of dead Welsh kings and magical forests, of dreams and ghosts, made me so, so happy. I hadn’t realised how much I’d actually missed it. You’re probably wondering why I loved this book so much though, so I had better tell you.
Blue Lily, Lily Blue is full of amazing relationships between the characters. For example, there are the friendships between Blue, Gansey, Adam, Ronan and Noah. Their banter was wonderful, and seeing how the relationships have developed since the first book is so interesting! Also, I’m pretty invested in the Gansey/Blue ship so that definitely kept me reading.
The book also has a really unique storyline. I mean, how many other books have you read about dead Welsh king?? And I’ve got to say, I love this aspect of the book. You may or may not know that I’m Welsh, so I’m kind of familiar with the stories about Glyndwr, having heard them several times in school. So seeing him in a book just gets me really excited! What Maggie’s done with the plot is really inventive too, and I really can’t stop reading.
Finally, the writing in the series is just magical. I don’t know, I’m kind of in love with Maggie Stiefvater’s writing because of how real she makes everything seem, and also how realistic the characters are.
Basically, I need the next installment in this series right about now! It’s so good, and it’s a must read for all fans of stories which are a bit magical mysterious.
6 thoughts on “Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3)

  1. It was really good and the characters are amazing, the whole idea is unique ^^ I’m glad you liked it, I can’t wait for the next book either!!!

    1. Yeah, Blue and Gansey’s relationship kills me! And Maggie Stiefvater is so talented when it comes to writing get characters. 🙂

Leave a Reply

