Review: Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch

Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett - Good Omens

According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch(the world’s only completely accurate book of prophecies, written in 1655, before she exploded), the world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday, in fact. Just before dinner.

So the armies of Good and Evil are amassing, Atlantis is rising, frogs are falling, tempers are flaring. Everything appears to be going according to Divine Plan. Except a somewhat fussy angel and a fast-living demon—both of whom have lived amongst Earth’s mortals since The Beginning and have grown rather fond of the lifestyle—are not actually looking forward to the coming Rapture.

And someone seems to have misplaced the Antichrist . . .

Just look at the blurb! Does it not sounds awesome to you? Well, if you don’t think it does, think again. Because this is one truly amazing and hilarious book.

“It was a nice day.”
Back in 2013, Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere was aired as a radio drama on BBC Radio 4 and I loved it (that may or may not have been partly down to James McAvoy being in it…) Anyway, when I heard that Good Omens (by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman) was going to be on over Christmas, I knew I had to listen it. And I enjoyed it even more than Neverwhere! So, obviously, I decided to read the book.
It was brilliant. To be honest, I’m not sure what else there is to say. It’s all you could ever want in a book – the apocalypse, humour, friendship, more humour, excitement, tension, a bit more humour… It was a perfect combination of fantasy and funniness (which is unsurprising, considering who wrote it).

Reasons Why This Book Was Awesome

  1. Aziraphale and Crawley. Their friendship, the banter, their love for the world… Everything about these two were great, and they made me laugh so much.
  2. Newt Pulcifer and Anathema DeviceThe fact I loved Newt a lot was probably to do with Colin Morgan voicing him in the radio adaptation, but seriously, these two were great. I’m finding it really hard to explain my love for them, but I can tell you they were awesome. And very funny at times.
  3. The Them. That sounds really sinister, but it’s really not. The Them is a group of eleven(ish) year olds who have the best friendships and were a lot of fun.
  4. The tension and excitement. Yep, this book was not just a lot of laughs (although it may seem like that based on my review). No, this book is serious too, with the threat of the apocalypse and a war between angels and demons and the Antichrist going missing. See? VERY serious.
  5. Finally, the Four HorsemenYes, the four horsemen of the apocalypse make an appearance, and they are brilliant. I love how they’ve been modernised in this book, and they were also very funny. (Me laughing was something that happened a lot in this book).
“DON’T THINK OF IT AS DYING, said Death, JUST THINK OF IT AS LEAVING EARLY TO AVOID THE RUSH.”

Basically, I’m in love with this book and I’m going to finish this review right here so that I can run off and read it again.

Have you read Good Omens? Do you love Terry Pratchett/Neil Gaiman? Isn’t Colin Morgan awesome?

3 thoughts on “Review: Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch

    1. I loved it so much! And I need to read more Discworld – I’ve read a few books but I want to start the series from the beginning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

