Review: Flawed (Perfection #2)

J L Spelbring - Flawed

In a world where Hitler won the The War, and perfection is constantly sought, Ellyssa has broken free from her austere life and has found another meaning for her existence.

Family, friendship, and love.

But her happiness is short lived. Ellyssa finds herself on the run, again. Her father’s work didn’t die with him, but lives on in her siblings, Aalexis and Xaver, and they are determined to complete his unfinished dream.

I received this book for review from NetGalley.

Before I start the review, I apologise for some possible vagueness. I really shouldn’t have waited so long before reviewing it.

When I requested this book, I didn’t realise it was the second book in a series. My bad! However, I figured I should probably read it anyway, so I read up on the events of the previous book (what I could find, anyway), and then started Flawed. Considering I hadn’t read the first book, I enjoyed this one anyway. Yes, I was a bit confused at times but most of it was easy to follow.

The book takes place in a world where Hitler won the war, and so a race of superhumans are being created. One of these people is Ellyssa, who I believe escaped from that life in the first book. Here, she is trying to find the resistance and help stop more people like herself from being created. (At least, I’m pretty sure that was what was going on).

The plot was interesting in this one (although I was slightly confused), and I soon got engaged with the story. Thinking about it, it doesn’t have the most clear plot and it is definitely a middle book. It doesn’t have a particularly clear arc – it was kind of leading into the next book a little bit. However, I still enjoyed the story and I wanted to find out what would happen. I also liked the variety of characters. Ellyssa was interesting to read about because she was engineered not to feel many emotions, so I enjoyed seeing her getting close to some of the other characters, especially Rein.

However, there were things I didn’t like. There was a bit of a love triangle. It wasn’t overdone, but I did feel it was kind of unneeded to have Woody liking Ellyssa. Another problem were the number of pov’s. I counted five, and I felt that was too many because most weren’t used all that often. I’ll admit though, Aalexis’s pov’s were interesting. (She was one of the other superhumans, and Ellyssa’s “sister”).

Overall, I enjoyed the story and I do want to read the first book to see how Ellyssa first got to know the resistance. However, I’m not sure if I’ll be continuing the series in the future.

Have you got any good recommendations of books where Hitler won the war?

One thought on “Review: Flawed (Perfection #2)

Leave a Reply

