book review

Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Ransom Riggs - Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

I read this back in the summer (yes, I know, I’ve put off this review for a while), and I rather liked it. There were quite a few things I liked about it, and it had a good story. And the creepy pictures were a great addition to the story! I couldn’t wait to see how they fit in with things.

So, why did I like it?

Well, a.) it was (mostly) set in Wales, b.) it was creepy, c.) there was a mystery, and d.) time travel. Two of those things are pretty much instabuy for me, another is a favourite genre and the last is not usually my sort of thing. Let me explain. Wales and time travel – they’re both awesome. Mysteries have been a favourite of mine since I was little. Those three things together? Instabuy. The creepy factor though? It’s not usually something that would draw me, but this book succeeded with it. Combining all these factors with a great story and some interesting character (with special powers) meant I was going to enjoy this book. And I did!

A few reasons to read it

There are creepy, vintage photographs. They really bring the story to life and you can imagine the sort of place and the sort of children in the book. They kind of have super powers, but not really. All the kids have talents, and I loved discovering those. It added an unexpected side to the story. The characters were great too, although I did find myself losing track of some of them. On the whole though, they were very interesting, especially our main character Jacob, and also Emma. Finally, descriptions. They were really nice and helped to bring the book to life.

Basically, this book is definitely worth the read, and don’t worry if you’re not into creepy things. It’s not going to give you nightmares! It’s definitely worth reading though.

2 thoughts on “Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children”

Leave a Reply

