Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award!

sisterhood-of-world-blogger-award

I was nominated by Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Geek to take part in the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. Thanks for tagging me, Rachel! I’m really behind on tags, so I’m slowly trying to catch up on them. Here we go!

1. Did you have a book that meant a lot to you as a child?

Well, apart from Harry Potter (which I grew up with), I really loved The Chronicles of Narnia, especially The Magician’s Nephew. I read it so many times when I was young, and I think what I liked was the magic of Narnia being created and discovered for the very first time. The whole series was amazing though, and the fact that we had (still have) the BBC version on dvd made it even better. (And if you haven’t seen that version, go and watch it. It’s so good!)

2. Is there any author or book that you collect, and will always welcome multiple editions of the same title?

When I was about thirteen I went through an Agatha Christie phase, and I don’t think I ever really left it! I have so many of her books (they fill up a whole shelf), but there are still a lot that I don’t own yet, and I’d happily own multiple copies of her books. Her work is fantastic!

3. Say you find yourself judging a book by it’s cover (not that we ever do that!!!); what sort of covers do you go for? Are there any that are an absolute turn off?

I’m not a huge fan of girls in floaty dresses; those covers are rather boring. I do really like illustrated covers though (*cough*Seraphina*cough*) and I’ll easily pick one of those up without knowing if the book is any good.

Rachel Hartman - Seraphina

4. If you could pick any imaginary animal to bring home to Mom with an earnest, “Can we keep him?”, what animal woul it be?

A dragon, every time. I mean, come on, I am Welsh! I’m thinking more Toothless than Smaug though, I’m not sure my parents would accept a dragon who would probably destroy the whole neighbourhood.

Toothless

5. Is there any book to movie adaptation that you simply refuse to watch? No way, no how, you’re not even giving them the opportunity to mess up?

Hmm, I don’t usually avoid adaptations. However, I’m never watching Eragon again. They did horrible things to that book. Horrible!

6. What is the most unusual book you’ve ever read? (Plot, writing style, chapter layout, etc.)

We Were Liars. I haven’t read any other books in that sort of style, but I want to because I really liked it.

7. Is there any book or series that you’ve read that is totally outside of your normal genre, but you loved it and would recommend it to others as a “take a risk!” sort of book?

A few months ago, I would’ve named some contemporary book (like This Song Will Save Your Life), but I’ve gotten really into that genre since then, so I can’t really think of anything that’s out of my comfort zone.

8. Do you have any bookish collections, or anything you covet and hope to someday collect? Candles, artwork, bookcases?

Well, there’s my Agatha Christie collection, which I love. There are also my signed books (although I don’t have many as authors never visit Cardiff!) I’d love to have more signed books though.

Jpeg
My Agatha Christie collection
Jpeg
The really old ones

9. What book has been on your TBR pile the longest, but you just can’t convince yourself to pick it up?

I’ve owned a copy of Tithe for ages, but I just haven’t started it yet. I think it’s partly that the cover has a really weird texture so I don’t like holding it for very long.

10. You get a $500 gift card for all things bookish – do you run to your nearest bookstore and spend like a fiend? Or do you create pro/con lists (a la Rory Gilmore) to make sure you get just the right & perfect & wonderful bookish things? Or are you eyeing a particularly expensive bookcase somewhere?

I’d happily spend all that money on books, but not in one go. I think I’d buy some nice editions of books too, like those really pretty Jane Austen hardbacks. And some bookish things would be on the list too – a couple of tshirts, and maybe a necklace?

I’m going to tag these bloggers to answer the same questions as I did, because they’re really interesting ones (and I’m terrible at making up my own questions!)

Chrissi @ Chrissi Reads

Natalie @ Natflix and Books

Vlora @ Reviews And Cake

Leave a Reply

