book review

Review: Rogue Wave (Waterfire Saga #2)

Jennifer Donnelly - Rogue Wave

In this exciting sequel to DEEP BLUE, Serafina uncovers more clues about the talismans, Neela ventures into a sea dragon’s nest, and Ling learns the identity of their foe.

Serafina, Neela, Ling, Ava, Becca, and Astrid, six mermaids from realms scattered throughout the seas and freshwaters, were summoned by the leader of the river witches to learn an incredible truth: the mermaids are direct descendants of the Six Who Ruled-powerful mages who once governed the lost empire of Atlantis. The ancient evil that destroyed Atlantis is stirring again, and only the mermaids can defeat it. To do so, they need to find magical talismans that belonged to the Six.

Serafina believes her talisman was buried with an old shipwreck. While researching its location, she is almost discovered by a death rider patrol led by someone familiar. . . . The pain of seeing him turned traitor is devastating.

Neela travels to Matali to warn her parents of the grave threat facing their world. But they find her story outlandish; a sign that she needs to be confined to her chamber for rest and recovery. She escapes and travels to Kandina, where her talisman is in the possession of fearsome razormouth dragons.

As they hunt for their talismans, both Serafina and Neela find reserves of courage and cunning they didn’t know they possessed. They face down danger and death, only to endure a game-changing betrayal, as shocking as a rogue wave.

I received this book for review from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Firstly, look at the cover! Isn’t it pretty??

I wasn’t blown away by the first book in the Waterfire Saga, Deep Blue, when I read it back in June. Because of that, I didn’t have particularly high hopes for Rogue Wave. Due to that, I was happily surprised when I read this book. I thought it was a lot better than the first book, and it was a lot more interesting.

The story continues from where the previous book left off – Sera and her mermaid friends are trying to find various talismans, although they don’t know what any of them are. They all split up, so this book focuses primarily on Sera and Neela, along with Ling occasionally. We follow them on their quest to find these talisman as well as seeing them trying to warn others about about what might happen soon.

I thought the plot was rather good, and there were some great twists thrown in that I really wasn’t expecting. This book seemed a lot more serious than the first, and I was so happy that we got to know more about the villains and the “master plan”.
Jennifer Donnelly - Rogue Wave
I am so in love with this cover.

Another thing I liked a lot was the world building. Donnelly had clearly put a lot of thought into it because it is pretty detailed. I love the fact that the mermaids have different nationalities and languages, rather than all being exactly the same. We see a lot more of the world in this book, and we get to find out more about the mermaids relationship with other sea creatures. It’s also really easy to imagine because of the descriptions.

I have to admit though, I’m still struggling to connect with some of the characters. I really like Ling but she wasn’t in the book all that much, so instead I was stuck with Sera. I did like her more this time, but I still don’t feel like I care about her all that much. She had a good story but she seems like quite a genetic character – I don’t really know what sort of weaknesses she had. Neela is more interesting to read about, especially considering her character development since the first book. She’s grown up a lot!

Overall, I looked it. I probably will read the next book in the series because I’m curious how things are going to play out. So if you want a mermaid story, it’s worth a go. Bear in mind though, I would say it’s more MG than YA. But that is definitely not a bad thing, so try out the book if you’re interested!

If you got the chance to become a mermaid, would you take it?
3 thoughts on “Review: Rogue Wave (Waterfire Saga #2)”

  1. I got the first book from Netgalley but didn’t read it because I saw there were a couple of negative reviews. However, seeing that the sequel was so good, I may just try reading them back to back? Maybe I’ll enjoy them more. Great review!

Leave a Reply

