Review: The Hit (The Unknown Assassin #1)

Allen Zadoff - The Hit

Boy Nobody is the perennial new kid in school, the one few notice and nobody thinks much about. He shows up in a new high school, in a new town, under a new name, makes few friends and doesn’t stay long. Just long enough for someone in his new friend’s family to die — of “natural causes.” Mission accomplished, Boy Nobody disappears, and moves on to the next target.

When his own parents died of not-so-natural causes at the age of eleven, Boy Nobody found himself under the control of The Program, a shadowy government organization that uses brainwashed kids as counter-espionage operatives. But somewhere, deep inside Boy Nobody, is somebody: the boy he once was, the boy who wants normal things (like a real home, his parents back), a boy who wants out. And he just might want those things badly enough to sabotage The Program’s next mission.

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I started this with no idea about the plot. I requested it off NetGalley ages ago and only just read it, so I went in totally blind. And I’ve got to say, I enjoyed it more than I was expecting to. The Hit was a great thriller/assassin thing which I really liked. It tells the story of a boy who is basically an assassin. He gets missions from his “The Program” and ususally manages to complete them just fine. However, in one particular mission, complications arise which means he can’t do the job. What follows is an interesting read.

Our main character is nameless most of the time in this book, but I’m going to call him Ben for this review (to be fair, he does use that name). I liked reading about his character, although I never totally connected to him. I never really got to know him all that well. But I did enjoy reading about his struggles through out the book when it came to his latest mission and the reasons behind his latest target.

Another thing I liked were the tools Ben used for his mission. That is, his apps on his phone. Basically, he had a whole load of clever gadget sort of things on his phone designed to help him out on missions and to get in contact with The Program (which I wish the book told us more about. I haven’t decided if they’re the good guys or the bad guys yet).

However, I did sometimes get confused when it came to the timeline. It jumps around a bit between the present and the past, and it took me a while to settle into some of the chapters.

On the whole, I enjoyed The Hit and I’m looking forward to reading more from Zadoff.
4 thoughts on “Review: The Hit (The Unknown Assassin #1)

  1. I liked the apps he used for his missions too ^^ I think the second book was the best so far but the first was pretty good too! Good review!

Leave a Reply

