book review

Review: My True Love Gave To Me

Stephanie Perkins - My True Love Gave To Me

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me …This beautiful collection features twelve gorgeously romantic stories set during the festive period, by some of the most talented and exciting YA authors writing today. The stories are filled with the magic of first love and the magic of the holidays.

I was so excited about this collection of short stories. I mean, have you seen some of the authors? Stephanie Perkins, Ally Carter, Gayle Forman, Rainbow Rowell… The list goes on. When I finally got my hands on a copy (and my copy is so pretty. It’s a hardback with bright pink pages. I’m in love!), I started it straight away. Generally, I enjoyed the book, although some stories were a lot better than others. I’m going to give you my thoughts on each story, but don’t worry, it’ll just be a sentence or two!

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell

This book got off to a great start. I loved Midnights, and I thought it was a very enjoyable read. Mags and Noel were great characters to read about.

The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link

This had a very fairytale-ish vibe to it, and it was rather mystical and fantastical. It was really sweet though.

Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Pena

I wasn’t a huge fan of this one. It wasn’t cute and fluffy enough for my sort of Christmas story. It didn’t click with me.

Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han

This one was adorable! I wish it had been longer, because I really wanted to know what happened with the characters after that ending.

It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins

Really, really cute. It was possibly my favourite. This is exactly what I was expecting from a Christmas story.

Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan

Slightly disappointing after everything I’ve heard about Levithan. It was quite sweet though.

Krampuslauf by Holly Black

Nope! Just nope. Not my kind of story, and especially not at Christmas.

What the hell have you done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman

Another favourite! It was really sweet, and I really connected with this one because Sophie was in her first year of university (like me!)

Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire

I really like this one too, and found it so relatable. I loved the fact that it actually showed Christians at Christmas. I definitely need to check out some of her books.

Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White

Yet another favourite! This one just made me really, really happy. And it was so Christmassy. I think this one probably was my favourite.

Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter

I was really disappointed by this one, because I love Ally Carter. I just thought this story was very rushed and sudden compared to the others.

The Girl Who Woke The Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Not very Christmassy, but it was exactly what I’ve come to expect from Laini. Very mystical and fantastical, and quite different from the other stories. It sort of reminded me of Maggie Stiefvater’s The Scorpio Races.

So, that’s my opinion on this short story collection. I did enjoy it on the whole, and some stories definitely stood out. I’d recommend this book to anyone who’s looking for a nice Christmas read!

4 thoughts on “Review: My True Love Gave To Me”

  1. Hmmm, I was wondering about this one, the mix of genres, since I knew some of these authors from fantasy writing. It sounds like it’s more mixed than I thought it’d be if some of these stories have fantasy elements! Good to know.

    1. Yeah, I wasn’t expecting so much fantasy in it, but I was glad that the genres were quite varied. It’s a really nice mix that works well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

