Review: The Retribution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #3)

Michelle Hodkin - The Retribution of Mara Dyer

  Mara Dyer wants to believe there’s more to the lies she’s been told. There is.

She doesn’t stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead. She should.

She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance. She will now.

Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer’s story.

Retribution has arrived.

Possible small spoilers for books one and two ahead.

The Evolution of Mara Dyer left readers on the most horrible cliffhanger ever. And I mean, ever. (Well, apart from maybe Mark of Athena). And then, we had to wait for what seemed like years and years for this book to be released. I’m pretty sure its release date got pushed back at least twice! Anyway, it was finally released and it was worth waiting for. I really enjoyed this book. Yes, there were a few things I wasn’t as keen on, but it was such a gripping read.

 One of the things I’ve always loved about this series is the fact that it can get very creepy, and Retribution certainly didn’t disappoint on that side of things. I wasn’t sure it was possible for this book to be creepier than Evolution, but it was. Especially the beginning. Right from the moment I read the first few pages, I was hooked. Michelle Hodkin is brilliant at writing creepy and strange scenes and descriptions – I really like her writing style.

I also really liked Mara. She’s such an interesting and different character, and I love how she’s kind of on the verge of almost being a villain really. I just think that Mara’s perspective is always really interesting. She’s such a well-developed character as well, and it’s so easy to get into her mind and understand her. She’s great! There are, of course, other characters in the series and there are some that I totally adore. Jamie and his banter with Mara added some really nice humour to the book, and I got so excited when Daniel, Mara’s brother, turned up. I also liked getting to know Stella a bit better.

I did mention that I had a couple of problems with the book, and one of those was the ending. The actual conclusion was really good, but then the story was dragged out for a while after that and I think it could’ve ended a lot sooner. I also expected a lot more from Jude in this book. In previous books he was really, really creepy and I hated him, but I just wasn’t as bothered about him this time. However, there were some great plot twists that I didn’t see coming, and there was one that really shocked me.

I thought that The Retribution of Mara Dyer was a good end to the series and definitely worth the wait, and I’d definitely recommend the whole series to anybody who’s interested in it.

One thought on “Review: The Retribution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #3)

Leave a Reply

