book review

Review: Rose Under Fire (Code Name Verity #2)

Elizabeth Wein - Rose Under Fire

Rose Justice is a young American ATA pilot, delivering planes and taxiing pilots for the RAF in the UK during the summer of 1944. A budding poet who feels most alive while flying, she discovers that not all battles are fought in the air. An unforgettable journey from innocence to experience from the author of the best-selling, multi-award-nominated Code Name Verity. From the exhilaration of being the youngest pilot in the British air transport auxiliary, to the aftermath of surviving the notorious Ravensbruck women’s concentration camp, Rose’s story is one of courage in the face of adversity. Code Name Verity is shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal.

It’s been a week since I finished this and I still can’t decide if it broke my heart more than Code Name Verity. It definitely did break my heart though. I got so emotional while I was reading this book, but I found it impossible to put down. I really don’t know how Elizabeth Wein does it! She’s a brilliant author.

Rose Under Fire is a companion novel to Code Name Verity, and it follows the story of Rose, an American ATA pilot. She ends up in a concentration camp for women in Germany, and the story that follows is full of horrific events. Sometimes this book gets really hard to read. However, you should definitely read it.

The main thing I loved about this book was the friendship, which is something that Elizabeth Wein excels at writing about. In Rose Under Fire, Rose forms such tight bonds with the other girls in the concentration camp, like Roza and Irina, Seeing those friendships in the middle of all the horrible things that were going on also made me cry quite a few times.

Rose herself was amazing. She’s so, so brave and courageous and I’m amazed at how she coped with everything that she went through. The book is written in a journal format, and Rose’s words felt so real as she talked about her time in the camp and also about her life before that. I also loved the fact that Rose wasn’t just a “strong female character”. Her main hobby was writing poetry, and I loved seeing that come into the book. Some of her poems almost had me crying at times.

The actual history that the book is based on is horrible, and I think this book did a really good job of showing as much as possible about the camp. Horrible things happened there, and one of the main things that was talked about were “the rabbits”, a group of women who were experimented on by Nazi doctors. They’re left crippled and their stories are so horrible. I think that because everything that’s mentioned in this book is true, it makes for a really gripping story, even if some of the events are horrific.

Rose Under Fire definitely lived up to my expectations, and is just as good as Code Name Verity. You should all definitely go and read it. And just in case you’re still not conviced, Maddie from Code Name Verity is in it! See, you have to read it now!

5 thoughts on “Review: Rose Under Fire (Code Name Verity #2)”

  1. Yes. To ALL of this. I really can’t decide which I loved more and which broke my heart more either- oh my god. I love this duology so much.

      1. I’m so excited for her third book but I’m a little sad already it isn’t following a similar story- I would’ve LOVED if Maddie got her own book finally!

      2. It would be AMAZING if Maddie got her own book – she’s a brilliant character. I can’t wait to read her next book though.

Leave a Reply

