Review: Trial by Fire (The Worldwalker Trilogy #1)

Josephine Angelini - Trial by Fire

The exhilaratingly seductive new series from the author of the bestselling Starcrossed series

Love burns. Worlds collide. Magic reigns.

This world is trying to kill Lily Proctor. Her life-threatening allergies keep her from enjoying many of the experiences that other teenagers take for granted…which is why she is determined to enjoy her first (and perhaps only) high-school party. But Lily’s life never goes according to plan, and after a humiliating incident in front of half her graduating class Lily wishes she could just disappear.

Suddenly Lily is in a different Salem – one overrun with horrifying creatures and ruled by powerful women called Crucibles. Strongest and cruellest of all the Crucibles is Lillian . . . Lily’s identical other self in this alternate universe. This new version of her world is terrifyingly sensual, and Lily is soon overwhelmed by new experiences.

Lily realizes that what makes her weak at home is exactly what makes her extraordinary in New Salem. It also puts her life in danger. Thrown into a world she doesn’t understand, Lily is torn between responsibilities she can’t hope to shoulder alone, and a love she never expected.

But how can Lily be the saviour of this world when she is literally her own worst enemy?

This is the first book I’ve read by Josephine Angelini, and I’ll admit, I was expecting more. The blurb for this book makes it sounds so awesome, and yet the book itself is just a bit, well, ‘meh’. I mean, the idea behind it got me so excited – a parallel universe where witches in charge of energy, and science is looked down on? It sounds brilliant. Sadly, it was a bit of a let down.

I think the main reason I didn’t enjoy it as much as I was hoping too was because of the romance. I felt that it took over the plot too much, especially considering that Lily and Rowan didn’t even know each other that long. Personally, I would’ve been happier if more time had been spent on the actual plot and the idea of parallel words. The romance just started to annoy me a little.

I also wasn’t the biggest fan of the main characters, Lily and Rowan. I just couldn’t connect to them much and their romance annoyed me. To be fair, there were some scenes with them that I did like, but they tended to be the parts where Lily was discovering her magic rather than when she and Rowan were being couple-y.

I did like a lot of the side characters though. Although she wasn’t in the book a huge amount, I really liked Juliet, Lily’s sister. I don’t know if it’s because I’m an older sister that I connected with her more, but I just preferred reading about Juliet. I was also a fan of Rowan’s friends, Tristan and Caleb. They were both a lot of fun, and far less serious about everything than Rowan. It would’ve been nice to see them more in the book.

One of the highlights of this book was the world. I love the idea of parallel worlds, and I really enjoyed reading about the differences in this one. The descriptions were so interesting, as was the totally different history of the world. I really liked that aspect of the book.

Overall, I wasn’t the biggest fan of Trial by Fire, but it did have its good points. If you’re a bigger fan of romance than me, chances are that you’ll probably enjoy this book more than me too.

Would you love to be able to visit parallel worlds?

2 thoughts on “Review: Trial by Fire (The Worldwalker Trilogy #1)

  1. the fact the plot was “meh” was exactly how I felt throughout this book. You share my thoughts on the romance, exactly. I had to abandon this book because it was annoying the hell out of me.

    1. I mainly kept going because I was hoping the storyline might get more interesting because of the whole parallel worlds thing, but I kind of wish I had DNF’d it. I’m not surprised you abandoned it!

Leave a Reply

