Review: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour

Morgan Matson - Amy and Roger's Epic Detour

Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

I LOVED the last Morgan Matson book I read, Since You’ve Been Gone. That meant that I was really excited about reading this one, and also terrified. What if it didn’t live up to the awesomeness of SYBG? Well, it almost did. I prefer SYBG just a little bit, but I loved this one too. I mean, it’s made me really want to take a road trip now because it sounds so fun!

Onto the review, which is going to be done in the form of a list. Because why not?

Why I Loved Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour

  1. PLAYLISTS! I loved this about SYBG too, but it was even better in this book because MUSICALS. I love musicals (although I haven’t seen that many) so the moment I finished this I added all of Amy’s playlist songs to a spotify playlist. It’s all such good music!
  2. THE TRAVEL NOTES! Amy was really reluctant about going on the road trip at the start but she really gets into documenting it. I loved the pictures and the little comments that were scattered throughout the book, and I’ve heard that Morgan Matson took the pictures herself (which is awesome).
  3. ROAD TRIP! As I’ve already said, I really want to go on a road trip. Like, right now. But I can’t, so I’ll have to be content with reading about one. Amy and Roger have so much fun while they’re traveling all over the states and it was great exploring America with them.
  4. FRIENDSHIP! Friendship in books is important to me, and it’s in this book for quite a while. Reading about Amy and Roger’s relationship developing was so fun, and I really liked the parts where they opened up to each other completely.
  5. FLASHBACKS! This also came up in SYBG (I seem to be referencing it a lot) and it worked really well in this book too. I was desperate to know exactly what had happened when Amy’s father died and this book did give me a lot of feelings at time.
  6. ROMANCE! The romance was lovely in this book and it developed nice and slowly and was really cute and it definitely suited the book.

I still prefer Since You’ve Been Gone to this book by a margin, but Amy and Roger is an amazing book in it’s own right. It has lots of fun music, lots of humour and great relationships. It’s definitely worth the read!

2 thoughts on “Review: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour

  1. I love how you listed everything (devoted list fan here) and I cannot wait to pick both these books up, it sounds so summery and ah love road trips 🙂

    1. It’s very summery, and it’s such a fun read! You should definitely read the book, especially seeing as there are a lot of lists involved. 🙂

Leave a Reply

