book review

Review: Taste of Darkness (Healer #3)

Maria V Snyder - Taste of Darkness

She’s fought death and won. But how can she fight her fears?

Avry knows hardship and trouble. She fought the plague and survived. She took on King Tohon and defeated him. But now her heart-mate, Kerrick, is missing, and Avry fears he’s gone forever.

But there’s a more immediate threat: The Skeleton King plots to claim the Fifteen Realms for his own. With armies in disarray and the dead not staying down, Avry’s healing powers are needed now more than ever.

Torn between love and loyalty, Avry must choose her path carefully. For the future of her world depends on her decision.

There may be spoilers ahead for the first couple of books. Only minor ones though, like love interests and stuff.

This was possibly my favourite book in the series. I really enjoyed it! There was so much awesomeness in the book and it was a great end to the series. A lot happened, and I was genuinely worried for a lot of characters during the book, especially Belen (who’s awesome by the way).

So, the book. Plot-wise, there was plenty of action going on. I did find that sometimes things were a little rushed in the story and I wish more time was spent on a few things that came up. However, I did like the plot and I loved how things managed to link up by the end.

I was also a huge fan of the banter in this series and this book made me laugh quite a few times. It was so nice having some light-heartedness in the book between Avry and her friends.

Speaking of Avry, she was great in this book. I’ve liked her character through the whole series, but I really loved her in this one. She’s just brilliant. I’m also a rather big fan of Ryne, even if he does sometimes use people to get things done. I just can’t not like him, sorry Avry. The biggest surprise for me though was how much I enjoyed Kerrick’s sections of the book. If you’ve read my reviews of previous books in the series, you may remember that I really disliked Kerrick in the first book. I mean, I really didn’t want him and Avry to be together. However, by now, I really like him, and I really enjoyed reading about him in this book. Occasionally, I couldn’t wait to get to his chapters!

Of course, no book is perfect, and I did think that there was too much travelling going on. That’s been a problem for me throughout the whole series and it tends to slow down the plot. There weren’t many things I didn’t like though, and I’d definitely recommend the series if you’re a fan of fantasy.

4 thoughts on “Review: Taste of Darkness (Healer #3)”

    1. I definitely recommend the series. Poison Study is my favourite Snyder book, but as a series, the Healer series might just be a bit better.

      1. ahh that’s good to know. I loved Poison Study but I did feel a bit let down by the other two in the series- The Glass series didn’t really interest me but I might give it a short as well .I’ll have to look into the Healer series if you say it’s a stronger “series” and not just a one off!

      2. I thought it was. There’s a lot of traveling in it, but I thought the story line was good, and I really liked most of the characters. 🙂

Leave a Reply

