Why Is Uni So Expensive?

This isn’t a post about how university fees and how they’re too expensive for people to afford etc. No, this is about the fact that my course is insisting that we buy a £35 book about programming. Programming! I’m doing maths, not computer science! Why is one of my modules all about programming?? Alright, it’s probably because that’s actually useful when it comes to jobs, but I don’t like it at all.

Anyway, rant over. I’m not planning on writing a post all about programming. No, this is just one of my updates about university life (and ridiculously expensive books).

So, last time I did an update, I mentioned that I had joined the orchestra. Well, we’re now doing music from Wicked and it’s really awesome! Seriously, I’m in love with this orchestra. We’ve also been doing some Star Trek and some more classical things too. It’s so much fun!

Obviously, I’ve been doing maths as well and I’m so glad that I’m finally settling into a routine. My course definitely doesn’t seem as full on as it did two weeks ago (although it’s still a lot of contact hours compared to literally everybody else at this uni). The problem sheets we get are still hard, and I’m definitely finding that I like stats and probability a lot more than my other modules. The whole course is good though (apart from the programming bit).

Basically, I’m really enjoying it so far (although we’ll see how I feel after I’ve managed a term). I’m also, surprisingly, getting into cooking. I’ve never liked cooking before, but university might just change my mind about that!

Anyway, how’s your week been?

5 thoughts on “Why Is Uni So Expensive?

    1. Luckily I don’t have to buy any other books because it’s a maths course, but that sounds like a really good idea!

      1. I used google books like WHOA because most of them have the content pages and intro pages included so you can reference them correctly in your bibliographies!

  1. I’m in a similar boat >_< except my classes are business classes. I hate that the books are so expensive!
    Good luck with the semester (term? unit? quarter?)!
    Also, the orchestra thing is awesome and I'm happy that it makes you happy! 🙂

    1. It costs so much to buy them, especially considering that the general uni fees are so expensive!

      Thank you! Good luck with your semester/term. I hope you enjoy it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

