book review

Review: The Blood of Olympus (The Heroes of Olympus #5)

Rick Riordan - The Blood of Olympus UK

THE ONLY THING SCARIER THAN A HUNGRY DEMIGOD IS A HUNGRY EARTH MOTHER…

Despite surviving their many deadly quests, Percy, Jason, Annabeth and the rest of the crew are no closer to defeating the all-powerful Earth Mother, Gaia. Now her army of giants has risen and they’re stronger than ever.

They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaia will sacrifice two demigods in Athens. She needs their blood – the blood of Olympus – in order to awaken.

But how can a handful of young demigods hope to battle against Gaia’s legion of giants? In spite of the terrible danger that awaits them in Athens, they have no choice. Because, if Gaia wakes, it is game over. For them all.

The end of the series arrived on 7th October and I can tell you, I was terrified about reading this book. Having finished it, I can tell you it was awesome. And also a bit heart-breaking. But mostly awesome.

The thing is, because I loved it so much, I have no idea how to explain to you why you should read it. I’ve written my review so many times and I just can’t figure out how to write it properly. I’ll try, though. I can’t see it going well, but I’ll try.

My Thoughts

  1. It was a great end to the series. I’ve been following Percy and Annabeth’s story for ten books, and it’s kind of sad to see the end of the series. It was really good though. I loved every minute, even if I do wish that there had been more Percabeth in the book. They didn’t even get their own chapters! What I did see of them though, I loved.
  2. The rest of the demigods were awesome too. Over the past few books, I’ve totally fallen in love with Leo and Reyna, and their chapters in this book were so good. I really enjoyed reading about the developing friendship between Reyna and Nico as well. They’re both such great characters. Actually, friendship in general is one of the reasons I love this series, and I couldn’t get enough of it.
  3. I really loved the humour in this book. Humour is a common theme in all of Rick Riordan’s books, and there were plenty of moments in this book which made me laugh. Even when I was rather sad towards the end, I was still laughing at things. This book gave me very mixed emotions.
  4. The plot itself was really good. I found it so hard to put down because of the crazy amount of stuff that was going on. So much happened! I did think that the final fight was over a little too quickly, but I still really enjoyed it.
  5. And finally, the Greek mythology. That was the original reason that I picked up the books and it’s still a huge part of why I love them so much. I love the way the original myths are worked into the plot and it’s definitely one of the main reasons for why I love the books.

Basically, you should all read this book (and the rest of the series) because it was brilliant and it was the perfect end to a perfect series, and I really have no idea how to explain it to you!

Have you read it? How sad are you that the series has finished?

Leave a Reply

