book review

Review: Since You’ve Been Gone

Morgan Matson - Since You've Been Gone

The Pre-Sloane Emily didn’t go to parties, she barely talked to guys, she didn’t do anything crazy. Enter Sloane, social tornado and the best kind of best friend—the one who yanks you out of your shell.

But right before what should have been an epic summer, Sloane just… disappears. No note. No calls. No texts. No Sloane. There’s just a random to-do list. On it, thirteen Sloane-selected-definitely-bizarre-tasks that Emily would never try… unless they could lead back to her best friend.

Apple Picking at Night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until Dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a Stranger? Wait… what?

Getting through Sloane’s list would mean a lot of firsts. But Emily has this whole unexpected summer ahead of her, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected) to check things off. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go Skinny Dipping? Um…

This book was AMAZING! It gave me so many feelings throughout and I had a smile on my face for most of it, apart from the emotional parts in it. Why did I love this book so much? Because there’s so much about friendship in it. Yes, there’s romance (and I liked it), but the main thing I loved about this book were the close friendships that were developed between Emily and her new friends. Friendship books are the best.

There were plenty of other things I liked though, and the only way I can tell you about this book is a list. I mean, lists are some of the main things in the book!

Why should you read Since You’ve Been Gone?

  1. LISTS! There are quite a few of them in this book. Actually, a list is the basis of the whole book. Sloane leaves Emily a list of things to do before completely disappearing from her life, and so Emily hopes that completing the list will lead her back to her best friend. See? Friendship book.
  2. PLAYLISTS! Okay, these are basically lists, but with music. Awesome, right? To be honest, any book with playlists in it gives the book extra points for me because I love checking out new music. Emily’s country music was definitely something I enjoyed looking up.
  3. EMILY! Our main character. I think Emily is the reason I loved this book so much (apart from friendship of course). I connected with her so much while I was reading. She’d had thoughts that I’ve had before and for once I felt like I was reading a character that was very similar to me (apart from the whole running thing. Definitely not me).
  4. FRIENDSHIP! You knew it was coming. Emily meets several new people over the summer that she’s doing the list, and I loved reading about the developing relationship with each of them. They were all so different but they were also a great group of friends and I just enjoyed reading about their antics.
  5. ROMANCE! I thought it was very well done in this book. It didn’t go too quickly, there was lots of “I’m not sure about my feelings” and I just liked it on the whole. I was definitely rooting for Emily in the book to end up with the guy.
  6. FLASHBACKS! Throughout the book, we learn more about Sloane and Emily’s relationship and it was so nice seeing that develop too. There was just so much friendship and it was perfect.

So, you should definitely read this book. I read it in a day because I literally could not leave Emily’s world alone and I had to know if she ever saw Sloane again and if everything would work out for her. Plus that cover is really cute.

Have you read this book? Did you love it as much as I did?

5 thoughts on “Review: Since You’ve Been Gone”

  1. I haven’t read this but EVERYONE keeps loving it so maybe I should be reading it….
    Like your review. A book about lists and your review is a list 🙂

    1. You should definitely read it if you like contemporaries! It’s so good. 😀 And I couldn’t resist making a list for this book.

    1. Same! It was so good – I went to the library straight away when I finished it to see if I could find any more of her books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

