Review: Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)

Sarah J Maas - Heir of Fire - UK

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy.

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?

I’m just going to start by saying, this book completely BROKE ME. How am I meant to cope with all the feelings from that ending? HOW? I’m not sure I can wait another year for the next book to come out, because I really need to know what happens. YOU CAN’T END A BOOK LIKE THAT!

Anyway, back to the review.

I was slightly scared of reading this book. I was so worried that it wouldn’t compare to Crown of Midnight. I mean, Crown of Midnight was awesome. However, my fears were blown out of the water. Somehow, Heir of Fire was even better than Crown of Midnight and I loved every single page of it. I don’t know how Sarah J. Maas does it, but she is a brilliant author.

There was so much awesomeness in this book. The storyline surprised me so much at times, and I was literally screaming at the book by the end. It was lucky no one was in the house considering how emotional I was at that point. The whole book just gets really crazy towards the end of the book and it’s brilliant. The rest of the book is great too, but the ending is definitely the part that shocked me the most.

I’ll admit, the number of PoV’s in this book was a little overwhelming at times, but I was used to it by the end. I don’t think there was a single perspective that I didn’t enjoy.

My favourite thing about this book though were the characters – both the old ones and the new ones. Celaena was as awesome as ever and her arc in this book was incredible. I loved reading about the relationship between her and Rowan, and all the stuff about her magic was amazing. And there is a lot of magic in this book.

One of my favourite things about this book were Chaol and Dorian, and their relationship. It gave me all sorts of feelings and their storylines in this book were so interesting and so much happened and I really can’t get enough of them. Their friendship is very important to me.

There were a few new characters in the book too. One of these is the previously mentioned Rowan, who is really grumpy for a long time. And mean. But I liked him a lot. I also enjoyed getting to know Aedion because he’s pretty different to what’s expected. There’s also Sorcha (who is adorable and lovely and I really liked her parts of the book.) Finally, there’s Manon, who a lot of bloggers don’t seem to like much. The general consensus is that her parts were more boring than everybody’s else. Personally, I disagree because I seriously loved the developing relationship between her and Abraxos. It was kind of like this.

tumblr_n9o0bbORkz1t0c971o1_500

tumblr_nbym0zhMD81sh0ytco10_r1_400

tumblr_nben5k6dvY1rwooeko1_500

Yes, that was actually just an excuse to use some HTTYD gifs. But I did really love Manon and Abraxos. I can’t wait to see the role they play in later books.

Basically, I really can’t fault this book. It had so much going on and there are so many characters in it, yet I didn’t get confused once. It was an amazing addition to the series and now I’m seriously excited for book four to be released!

4 thoughts on “Review: Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)

    1. Every time I read about them, I felt like watching the film. It was ridiculous! But I liked them so it was fine. 🙂

    1. I thought she was really interesting to read about. I can’t wait to read more about her in future books.

Leave a Reply

