top ten tuesday

Top Ten Books That Were Hard To Read

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and involves making a lists about a certain topic. And who doesn’t like making lists, right?

Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read

This week’s topic is a hard one. I mean, what sort of books really belong on this list? Personally, I wouldn’t say that I’ve read many books which have a hard to read about subject matter, so instead I’ll go for books that made me sad. To be honest, I should probably rename my list to:

Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Carry On Reading

Markus Zusak - The Book Thief

1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

This one does have a harder subject matter due to the fact that it covers the Second World War, but it’s mainly on this list because it broke my heart so much. It makes me cry a lot every time I read it and there are certain parts that I find it hard getting past.

Ruta Sepetys - Between Shades of Gray

2. Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys

Again, this is a book that has a subject matter that isn’t talked about enough. Some parts had me stopping just so I could take in the horrible things that happen in this book.

John Boyne - The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

3. The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

Having visited Auschwitz this year, I think this book would hit me hard if I reread it. I genuinely have no idea how to even describe this one because it made me so sad.

Anne Frank - The Diary of a Young Girl

4. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank

I don’t think I need to explain this one.

Elizabeth Wein - Code Name Verity

5. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

This completely broke my heart and I didn’t want to carry on reading for a while because of the things that happened and it was just really sad.

Brandon Sanderson - The Final Empire

6. The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Moving on from historical fiction, this one also made me very sad because of a completely unexpected plot twist.

Sarah J Maas - The Assassin's Blade

7. The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

Having read the Throne of Glass books already, I knew the outcome of these novellas and yet I still read them. That last one hurt me a lot.

John Green - The Fault in Our Stars

8. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I couldn’t really leave this one off my list. Back when I reread it last year, I genuinely stopped for a few months because I couldn’t keep going with it.

J K Rowling - Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

9. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling

Yep, couldn’t leave this one off the list. The last section of this book was so sad and horrible and meaningful and good, and I’m still too scared to reread it.

Rick Riordan - The Blood of Olympus UK

10. The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

Considering this one isn’t out yet, it shouldn’t really be on my list. However, I know it’s going to destroy me and I cannot cope at all with the fact that this series is ending.

So, my list ended up being a lot of historical fiction, but what’s on your list this week?

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Were Hard To Read”

  1. I *need* to visit Auchwitz. Soon. A lot of my list will have those ww2-set books as well. I’m glad I find them disturbing though, it means I’m not immune to the tragedy and horror of what happened.

    1. Yeah, I think it’s important that people read those types of books, because what happened was so horrible. It’s kind of hard to “recommend” visiting Auschwitz, but it really brings to life what happened there.

      1. I felt I had to read it again before seeing the film, because there were a lot of things I couldn’t really remember about it.

    1. You should definitely try out some of these, especially Code Name Verity. All of them are very likely to break your heart at some point though.

  2. Great list, and I love your picks – a lot of war fiction/non-fiction there, it’s always tough to read because it’s based on reality. I’ve heard of Between Shades of Grey but don’t know much about it, would you recommend it? And would you recommend going into it without knowing much about it? I’ve just finished Throne of Glass and I’m looking forward to continuing the series, and dreading it, in equal measure. I’ve heard Heir of Fire is all about the feels, and I’m not ready for that with books 4, 5 and 6 being so far off. I haven’t read Mistborn yet, but it’s up there on my list, and I’m just starting my Percy Jackson/Rick Riordan journey soon as I picked up the first book (At 24!) lol.

    My TTT: http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/09/30/top-ten-tuesday-difficult-reads/

    1. Yeah, it’s so much harder to read about horrible things that have actually happened to so many people. I’d recommend Between Shades of Grey, and I didn’t really know all that much about the history behind the book so it’s easy to understand.

      Heir of Fire is definitely all about the feels. It seems like a normal book when you start it, but then towards the end it really hits you with craziness. It was awesome. I don’t think I can cope with the fact that 4, 5 and 6 are so far away – I need them now!

      I loved Mistborn, and I really need to get on with the series. It’s a must-read if you’re a fan of fantasy. I really hope you enjoy Percy Jackson because it’s one of my favourite series’!

Leave a Reply

